Watching Brave and The Dark Knight Rises on Blu-ray

11 12 2012

P1070650

Brave, widely recognised as a huge drop in quality for Pixar, arrives on Blu-ray and I did not hate it. It is in no way a bad movie, just a very underwhelming one. The story feels like a rejected idea passed on from Disney, especially since it centers around a princess. There is too much slapstick going on and not much that’s new to see in this “finding yourself” tale. But at least the movie is beautifully animated and has great music. If anything, I definitely recommend letting your kids watch Brave than Ice Age: Continental Drift.

The Dark Knight Rises signals the end of Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy, and I wonder what DC/Warner Bros is going to do with the Batman film franchise now, or any of their superhero properties for that matter. The Zack Snyder directed Man of Steel is arriving next year, and I am remaining optimistic. There is also Justice League planned for 2015, but don’t you get too excited yet. The last time a Justice League film was announced, it never saw the light of day. All we got was a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it  Superman+Batman logo in I Am Legend.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 12 2012
angie chui

I completely agree that the visuals for Brave were awesome but this was an underwhelming feature from Disney-Pixar. I feel really guilty for bashing on this movie but mostly, it was because of my own unmet expectations. 😀

I am also looking forward to Man of Steel next year but I have my reservations about Superman’s new costume.

Great reviews!

13 12 2012
Ipodman

Thanks! I think Superman’s new costume definitely feels better than Nolan’s Batman costume…

Please leave a comment!

