Blu-ray Update – The Classics and the new Classics!

16 10 2012

In my “blogging break” I managed to pick up a bunch of pretty good Blu-rays, both in terms of audio/video quality as well as film-making quality. No-questions-asked classics such as Citizen Kane, Psycho and Singin’ in the Rain I have not even watched before (can you believe it?) So what better way to enjoy these critically acclaimed films than in stunning remastered FULL HD!

I also watched the Best Picture winning The Artist for the first time on Blu-ray (which also happens to be my first SILENT film) and wow, this film really proves that story and characters are still what makes movies great. And then there are the films which certain demographics consider classics  of their own. The Hunger Games might have made you giddy with all its excessive shaky cam, but this post-apocalyptic story is no doubt unique and captivating.

Marvel’s The Avengers is the unstoppable superhero smackdown that proves superheroes are still hot everywhere they go. Oh how I love the scene where Bruce Banner turns into The Hulk at will. I also picked up the animated Batman flick The Dark Knight Returns:Part 1 on DVD, which comes with a cute little action figure. If you are interested enough, I recommend reading The Dark Knight Returns graphic novel as well!

Actions

Information

11 responses

17 10 2012
renxkyoko

My mother bought a blu ray of Singin’ in the Rain. I love the old musicals. “

17 10 2012
Ipodman

Mothers buying Blu-rays… some miracles do happen.

17 10 2012
The Focused Filmographer

I love seeing classics make their way to Blu-ray too.

on another note, that Batman action figure I saw in my local video store as well…he looks really fat!

17 10 2012
Ipodman

Must be hiding all his cash under that suit.

19 10 2012
cineramaetcetera

I love that little Batman action figure. It would look great on top of my office desk. 😀

19 10 2012
Ipodman

Yeah that Batman is so cute. I hope they do more figures for future releases.

19 10 2012
cineramaetcetera

true. i got so distracted by the batman toy that I forgot to compliment you on your choice of getting Psycho. I caught it on cable once and it totally creeped me out, even if it was not on blu-ray. brrr…

19 10 2012
Ipodman

Oh yes, Psycho is truly creepy. And even more creepy is that the boy looks exactly like Andrew Garfield from The Amazing Spider-Man.

27 10 2012
Daniel

I’ve only seen “Marvel’s The Avengers” on Blu-ray (so far). Would love to see “Singin’ in the Rain” on that format. I actually met Debbie Reynolds in Vegas a few years back (cool lady) !

28 10 2012
Ipodman

Singin’ in the Rain looks great on Blu-ray. Cool that you met Debbie Reynolds!

30 10 2012
The Hook

I love that title – and your choices!

Please leave a comment!

