The Amazing Spider-Man – Movie Review

29 06 2012

The Amazing Spider-Man is directed by Marc Webb (500 Days of Summer), and is marketed as “The Untold Story”. Spoiler: He gets bitten by a spider.

So it’s the same old story all over again – Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) is the nerdy kid who likes a girl (Emma Stone), gets bullied in school, bitten by spider, gains super powers, fights crime, meets villain, saves the day… nothing special. The earlier portion of the movie dwells a little into Peter Parker’s parents and how they might be partially responsible for Peter Parker’s powers, but it didn’t really go anywhere important.

I love Spider-Man’s villain gallery because these dudes always have some kind of personal connection with Peter Parker himself. The baddie this time is The Lizard, a handicapped scientist who wants to regrow his missing arm. By a fatal failed experiment, he now transforms into a mini godzilla and wrecks havoc in New York City. The Lizard in monster-form thankfully does not look cartoonish, but rather believable and you can even see emotions in his face. He wears his white lab coat for a brief moment, a wink to how he looks in the comic books.

One thing I found exceptional about this movie is the music. The score of this film actually sounds a lot like the previous Spider-Man scores, but this one has its own unique hook and compliments the slick feel of the movie. I like the overall look of the movie, but the staging of certain scenes felt slightly awkward, especially during the middle act. Action scenes are frantic and hard-hitting, and I appreciate the fact that Spider-Man is capable of experiencing pain – both physical and emotional.

This reboot has nothing on the movie phenomenon that was 2002’s Spider-Man, but 2012’s The Amazing Spider-Man will create a whole new generation of comic book fans like that original flick did to me ten years ago.

Actions

Information

16 responses

29 06 2012
Victoria-writes

It does feel a bit too soon for a new spiderman but I like the two leads so will probably watch it!

29 06 2012
Ipodman

I like Andrew Garfield, but not sure about Emma Stone… haven’t seen any of her other movies tbh o.O

29 06 2012
cineramaetcetera

Great review. I’m excited to see this tomorrow. 🙂

29 06 2012
Ipodman

Hope you like it!

Be sure to stay after the credits!

1 07 2012
cineramaetcetera

thanks for the tip 🙂

29 06 2012
Grande Falcone

I’m thinking I’ll pass on this until the DVD. I, for one, LOVED Tobey McGuire’s performances in the last trilogy. Despite being “superhero” movies, I thought his performances were Oscar-worthy in their emotional range, and I just think the bar is too high for Garfield. This soon, especially.

29 06 2012
Ipodman

Ah, I can understand why some people are not excited for this new version of Spider-Man. As I said, it’s not as mind-blowing as the original, but it’s still an excellent movie on its own. I thought Andrew Garfield was great in this movie anyway…

29 06 2012
Grande Falcone

The Lizard looks awesome. I just wish they could have closed out the old one. Dark Knight Rises is where my summer’s at! 🙂

30 06 2012
Ipodman

I was hoping for a Spider-Man 4 but oh well…

I’m looking forward to Dark Knight Rises too!

7 07 2012
The Focused Filmographer

I am glad for the score you gave this, but was a little shocked when you stated the musical score was amazing. I found that to be one of the biggest missing parts! haha.

Hooray for this high score!

7 07 2012
Ipodman

Yeah I love the music, I’m giving the score a high score 😐

12 07 2012
CMrok93

This is a very entertaining film but the whole time I was watching it, I couldn’t stop thinking of the original series that was still bright and fresh in my mind. Then again, how couldn’t you think of Tobey, Kirsten, James, and Willem when you have a story that seems like it was written for the screen, just for them? Either way, it’s still a good movie. Good review Ipodman.

13 07 2012
Ipodman

Yeah I kept thinking about the original movie while watching this one, but I do think this reboot has it’s own credibility.

19 09 2012
xygdialonchara1980

Reblogged this on Tamie Whitehead Diary.

23 09 2012
qvfgigglingcohan1979

Reblogged this on Tyler Quade Post.

30 10 2012
The Hook

This was an amazing flick! Yeah, I know, but it really was amazing….

Please leave a comment!

