The Adventures of Tintin – Movie Review

26 04 2012

The Adventures of Tintin is the most action-dense movie ever made. I cannot recall any scene in which someone is not being chased after, or about to fall off a high place. This movie is always on its feet, blasting through set piece after set piece without any emotional connection with the audience.

Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson are at the helm of Tintin, which guarantees that this flick is technically perfect. The animation, or rather, motion capture, or rather, performance capture, or rather, ultra-realistic-creepy capture looks the best it has ever looked. All the locations in this movie are wonderfully designed and detailed and the various characters look as life-like as can be. I personally don’t mind the whole mo-cap nonsense, but it does get a bit weird after a while.

I don’t understand the plot at all, nor do I care. There is some kind of age-old mystery going on that Tintin (Jamie Bell) has to solve, but I don’t know why he is so willing to risk his life to find out the truth, or even where this boy comes from. He seems to have plenty of detective skills, but yet makes stupid mistakes. To be honest, he should have been dead a long time ago if it wasn’t for Snowy, his dog.

DespiteĀ having a story too confusing and unappealing, Tintin contains the old-fashion sense of adventure which action flicks of today try to but fail to achieve. Spielberg’s craft is top-notch, but gone are the days where seeing his name meant that you are about to see something mind-blowing.

Actions

Information

11 responses

26 04 2012
TBM

I really don’t have a desire to see this film. Since I grew up in America I’m not familiar with the story. I think Europeans prefer this story and can follow the movie. I feel like I would be like you and not get it.

28 04 2012
Ipodman

I also didn’t have the desire to see this film, but it’s Steven Spielberg so I decided I’ll do it.

26 04 2012
someone who likes films and books

I watched this film with my dad and brother and the 3 of us were the only ones in the theater. it was quite an experience. I havent remembered the plot too. I like the action adventure scenes especially the one in the opera but yeah it doesnt have that magical recall or simething.

28 04 2012
Ipodman

I wish I had my own private theater…

27 04 2012
CMrok93

I liked it and thought it was a bunch of fun but for some reason, couldn’t find it as anything else other than that. Yeah, the voice cast is pretty good and the moments of action are exhilarating and fun but there’s nothing else here that’s really worth it. Good review Ipodman.

28 04 2012
Ipodman

You are right, the movie doesn’t have anything else except lots of action scenes.

30 04 2012
Heretic

I don’t think the film was intended to have much depth to it; Tintin has never been a character with a lot of thought provoking moments within his stories. the comics were, more or less, simple action/detective scenes with fun characters and bumbling idiots.

30 04 2012
Ipodman

Well… I never really liked the comics anyway…

30 04 2012
Heretic

HA HA! They aren’t for everyone. I thought the movie was a good action film, but did remind me more of a 2 hour long video game cut scene…just like Polar Express.

1 05 2012
Ipodman

If you are looking for mo-cap movies that feel like video games… look no further than Beowulf O.O

1 05 2012
Heretic

oh man, good call!!!

Please leave a comment!

