Footloose / The Three Musketeers – Movie Reviews

7 04 2012

2011’s Footloose wants to be more than a dancing movie but it has overestimated its own ability. Aiming to be nostalgic, heart-tugging and inspirational, the result is none of those. I rather watch something like the Step Up films where everything is sparkling and flashy and so ridiculous it is highly entertaining for anybody who likes to dance.

The dancing scenes in Footloose are so few and unmemorable I almost forgot I was watching a dancing movie. Kenny Wormald and Julianne Hough (as if you know who they are) are good looking people and great dancers, but their characters do some bizarre stuff which makes you wonder if you should be rooting for them or not. If you are not curious enough, you can skip the new Footloose.

Quentin Tarantino put this film on his “favorite films of 2011” list, and I think I have too.

The Three Musketeers is from director Paul W. S. Anderson, who also directed Mortal Kombat, Resident Evil, Alien vs Predator and Death Race. So he is what he is, a maker of exploitation films that panders to the video gaming crowd. I love his style of swift and sharp action, ridiculous scenarios and campy lines. Sometimes it even reminded me of Raiders of the Lost Ark.

The Three Musketeers has lots of exciting sword fights, beautiful scenery and enchanting music. Also in this film are many ladies in bust-enhancing dresses, including Gabriella Wilde, Juno Temple and of course, Milla Jovovich (the director’s wife!). Logan Lerman (Percy Jackson) plays the hero of this flick, and he is one of the better young actors out there now. If you love action movies, then brush away all skepticism and enjoy the adventures of The Three Musketeers.

Actions

Information

10 responses

7 04 2012
cineramaetcetera

Great reviews, as per usual 🙂 I have the new Footloose on file but havent found the inclination to see it yet. I’m actually quite surprised that it even got made. Zac Effron who was initially tapped to headline the movie decided he didn’t want to do another musical/dancing movie, and second choice Chace Crawford (who would’ve been enough to make me watch the movie) came to his senses before the 11th hour and begged off. (At least that’s what I’ve heard). Anyways, I’m more interested in the updated version of the Three Musketeers. I missed it on its regular run but anything with Milla Jovovich in it plus Orlando Bloom in handlebar mustaches is golden. 🙂

7 04 2012
Ipodman

Yes, Orlando Bloom is yummy! 🙂

7 04 2012
cineramaetcetera

lol 🙂

7 04 2012
someone who likes films and books

Haha I love love the Fake ID country line dance in Footloose. i mean I want to learn it. i guess that is the only thing that is enjoyable in the film… And well the ending. i feel so embarrased for the lead guy when he was rage dancing lol!

i love the new Three Musketeers too! Bloom excels in being the villain. i like how it wasn’t too serious.

8 04 2012
Ipodman

That rage dance is obviously meant to be a joke.

13 04 2012
Anonymous

I have yet to see either of these films so I’ve been digging around for reviews to see if they’re good enough to add to my Blockbuster @Home queue. There’s a young girl in my training class at DISH who proclaims the new Footloose to be the best dance movie she has ever seen. I asked her if she liked it in comparison to the original starring Kevin Bacon and she had no idea what I was talking about and looked at me as if I was crazy! May be it’s just a generational thing, but I will take the advice on The Three Musketeers; I’m adding it to my Blockbuster @Home queue right now. Thanks!

14 04 2012
Ipodman

You are welcome!

13 04 2012
flieralls

Logan Lerman is the hottest Jewish boy ever.

14 04 2012
Ipodman

He’s Jewish? o.O

8 08 2012
sffse

Duh.

Please leave a comment!

