The Hunger Games – Movie Review

23 03 2012

Now that Harry Potter is finally done and Twilight is very soon coming to a close, Hollywood is hungry (see what I did there) for the next book-to-movie franchise that will bring in massive cash. I don’t believe it’s as phenomenal as the first Harry Potter flick, but The Hunger Games is good enough.

Jennifer Lawrence does an excellent job in portraying Katniss, the skillful heroine whom you will want to root for. She has a romantic relationship with Josh Hutcherson’s character Peeta, which is cute but didn’t really go anywhere important. The plot progresses quite swiftly although those who desperately want to get into the brutal games will have to wait a while. I appreciate that instead of staging mindless action scenes just to get the audience pumped up, this film chooses to explore its cast of characters and their relationships.

For a premise that centers on children tasked to kill one another, there was very little fighting or any sort of combat in this film. And when there was, it was merely two people wrestling each other on the ground, most of the time so frantic you can’t even figure out who’s who and what’s going on. I read the book before I watched the film and I feel like the film didn’t effectively capture that intense moment when the Hunger Games itself was being tested. If you are a fan of the book, you know what I’m talking about.

Despite my complaints, I still think The Hunger Games does an adequate job of adapting its source material in a way that even those who didn’t read the book will be interested. This first entry in what I hope becomes a successful franchise gets a respectable thumbs up from me.

Actions

Information

22 responses

23 03 2012
CMrok93

Maybe The Hunger Games is going to be the one young adult franchise that really lives up to the hype. Thankfully, it’s no Twilight- meaning that future installments will actually be something to look forward to and there won’t be any mopey romance angles. Fancy that! Good review Ipodman.

23 03 2012
Ipodman

Yeah, Katniss is a far more compelling character than Bella.

28 03 2012
The Focused Filmographer

Glad you enjoyed this. I did too. and I am SOOOO ready for Twilight to end!

Like you, I was glad that the film focused on the characters too. Nice review.

28 03 2012
Ipodman

Thanks, FF!

29 03 2012
Kim

I cannot wait to watch this movie! 🙂

30 03 2012
Ipodman

I cannot wait to watch it again!

30 03 2012
Kim

It’s that good? :O

29 03 2012
The Hook

I agree, my comic lovin’ ally!

30 03 2012
Ipodman

I’m waiting for The Hunger Games comic book o.O

31 03 2012
renxkyoko

I can’ believe I don’t know anything about this. I’ve been totally out of touch for years ! I need ro read the book first before I watch the movie. How do you compare it to, say, Harry Potter ?

31 03 2012
Ipodman

Harry Potter is better :O

31 03 2012
renxkyoko

The book or the movie ? ~o^

1 04 2012
Ipodman

The movie. I have not read Harry Potter, but I assume the book is better too…

1 04 2012
renxkyoko

I wish you had read the book whien it was still on-going, Ipodman. I have to admit it ‘s not a book that would win a Nobel Prize for literature , but there was something in the book that totally sucked me ( and hundreds of million others ) in. I think it was Harry Potter himself. Or the story telling itself. It’s not too late to read the book, though. The movies left so much of what was in the book. You need to read it.

4 04 2012
Ipodman

I actually read one of the Harry Potter books way back when they first came out, but don’t remember liking it. I think the story was too complicated and abstract for my personal taste.

4 04 2012
renxkyoko

You have to start from the first one, The Philosopher’s Stone.

6 04 2012
Ipodman

Yeah maybe… I do think that movie was the best Harry Potter movie.

6 04 2012
renxkyoko

Actually, yes, I think so too. Do read the first one, Ipodman…. and let us know what you think. It’s the shortest in the series.
Speaking of which, have you read Eragon?

7 04 2012
Ipodman

Sadly, no. I didn’t even realise it was a book 😐

5 04 2012
cineramaetcetera

Great review 🙂 My sentiments exactly and btw, I loved the pun in the beginning (Hollywood is hungry… indeed)! Cheers!

6 04 2012
Ipodman

I make it a point to put as many puns as possible into my reviews.

7 04 2012
cineramaetcetera

lols, mission accomplished then. 🙂

Please leave a comment!

