Puss in Boots / The Smurfs – Quick Movie Reviews

12 03 2012

Puss in Boots is the Dreamworks animated film starring our lovable Zorro-Cat from Shrek. Argubly funnier than the Shrek films, I did laugh out loud many times, especially during that bizarre dance fight. Where this film really excels is in its exploration of the Puss character and why he does what he does. His relationship with Humpty Dumpty is surprisingly deep and compelling, but the main plot is sadly quite thin and certain things made no sense to me. But considering that this film manages to be exciting and intense when it needs to, I shall happily recommend Puss in Boots to the whole family.

The Smurfs? I cut out at the Guitar Hero scene. Even before this “cute and fun” movie started, I knew I was going to give up sooner or later. I actually thought that 2002’s Scooby-Doo was perfectly fine as children entertainment, but The Smurfs (same director as Scooby-Doo) is painfully unbearable. None of the jokes are funny, and I don’t even like Neil Patrick Harris (so there’s your bias right there). The Smurfs themselves get increasingly irritating as the movie runs along, and the CGI used to create them is not very impressive anyway.

Actions

Information

6 responses

14 03 2012
cineramaetcetera

I agree with you on Puss in Boots but I did manage to sit through the Smurfs until the end. 🙂 Although , the singing was mildly annoying for me if I recall correctly 😀 Great reviews

15 03 2012
Ipodman

Thanks, cineramaetcetera!

17 03 2012
The Focused Filmographer

I know you can’t wait for Smurfs 2! haha

17 03 2012
Ipodman

You know me too well.

20 03 2012
Kim

Yes, I totally agree. Puss in boots was very deep…

21 03 2012
Ipodman

Wish I could say the same about Kung Fu Panda 2…!

Please leave a comment!

