FACT: TRANSFORMERS 1, 2 & 3 are all OSCAR NOMINATED FILMS

25 01 2012

The 84th Academy Awards (aka Oscars) nominations are out, and I’m very happy that Transformers: Dark of the Moon (my fav movie of the year! – Review here) managed to get THREE nominations! That makes the entire Transformers Trilogy an Oscar nominated trilogy, and that my friends, is a FACT.

Transformers (2007): Best Sound, Best Visual Effects, Best Sound Editing

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009): Best Sound

Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011): Best Visual Effects, Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing

Actions

Information

16 responses

25 01 2012
TBM

I didn’t know that. Did they win any?

26 01 2012
Ipodman

Sadly, nope!

25 01 2012
dirtywithclass

Doesn’t change my opinion that Transformers 3 was the worst movie of 2011…and possibly one of the worst mainstream movies ever.

That said, its nominations doesn’t really bother me, as they are for the technical stuff anyways

26 01 2012
Ipodman

It’s that bad? o.O

28 01 2012
dirtywithclass

To me, yep.

26 01 2012
cineramaetcetera

yay! while real steel was my favorite of 2011, I must admit that Transformers comes pretty close as my favorite.

26 01 2012
Ipodman

Real Steel got nominated for Best Visual Effects as well!

26 01 2012
cineramaetcetera

wow, that’s a double yay for me! 2011 was a great year for movies. The Oscar judges are going to have a tough time for sure. 😀

27 01 2012
Kay aka Babygirl

I will say I loved the first, the second one wasn’t all that great to me, but the last one was also good. Now you know no action movie like this will ever be nominated. They’d rather nominate a silent film *shrugs*

27 01 2012
Ipodman

Too bad the silent film can’t contend in the sound related categories -.-

28 01 2012
fogsmoviereviews

I wish it could have. If you’ve seen it – it’s not 100% a silent film. They occasionally, and very powerfully turn the sound on at certain moments. I’ll say this. It’s a movie that makes you more aware of sound than you will be in 99% of the other movies you’ll see this year. LOL

😀

28 01 2012
Ipodman

That’s so true… Absence makes the heart grow fonder!

30 01 2012
Nostra

I think they deserve it for the effects. No matter what people think of these movies, they can’t deny that those have been done very well.

30 01 2012
Ipodman

I agree with you. While the CGI in other movies tend to look dated after a few years, the first Transformers movie from 2007 still looks great today.

30 01 2012
Nostra

True! To me these movies are guilty pleasures. If a movie has great action scenes it’s usually enough reason to like it 🙂

31 01 2012
Ipodman

I absolutely LOVE the action scenes in the TF movies, and I love the characters and story too!

Please leave a comment!

