Kung Fu Panda 2 – Movie Review

23 01 2012

Kung Fu Panda 2 has a relatively high score on Rotten Tomatoes, but I fail to see why this movie is considered “good” by the majority. I loved the first Panda film, which had a genuinely touching and inspirational story. This sequel has a plot that’s so thin and so dull, I wondered if I was watching the correct movie.

Panda 1 made me laugh-out-loud countless times, but I didn’t even chuckle once during Panda 2. This sub-par script could have definitely been tightened up a whole lot more, and perhaps paid more attention to the intriguing relationship between Po and Tigress (voiced by Jack Black and Angelina Jolie respectively), which might as well be the only interesting thing in this film.

Yeah, I don’t even think Gary Oldman’s Lord Shen is as impressive as some critics believe. Unlike the menacing villain of Panda 1, this new peacock baddie is nothing to be afraid of. In fact, I didn’t feel as if Panda 2 contained any sort of danger for our protagonists, especially since Po aka The Dragon Warrior is practically invincible now. Sure, the film’s climatic scene has a few surprises, but it’s not enough to cover up the film’s major flaws.

I suspect that Panda 2 is actually meant to be a Dead Man’s Chest or Deathly Hallows Part 1 – just something to grab more cash and make you excited about the next installment (which in turn will make even more cash!). Would I want to watch Panda 3? Sure, why not, I’ll even bring the kids.

Actions

Information

12 responses

23 01 2012
The Hook

My daughter and I actually enjoyed thsi one! it’s not one of our faves, but it wasn’t bad at all…

24 01 2012
Ipodman

It isn’t bad… but it isn’t good either.

23 01 2012
renxkyoko

That’s true! I had seen the second and I thought it was not as good as the first one. Just like Shrek….. the first one was brilliant ( btw, I liked Donkey more than Shrek… Eddie Murphy was waaaay funnier, and to think most of his humour were adlibs….. I can’t forget his ” I’m gonna make some waffles” ), but 2 and 3 were lame, really lame. Not to mention Toy Story………

24 01 2012
Ipodman

You don’t like Toy Story 2 and 3? o.O

24 01 2012
angie

Great review, although I did appreciate the improvements in the animation aspect of the movie as well as the integration of Asian styles to the artwork 😀 In terms of story development, still a long way off from Pixar standards.

24 01 2012
Ipodman

Hmm… The animation is above average, but the camera was spinning all over the place during most of the action scenes (a little TOO much!)

24 01 2012
The Focused Filmographer

You know, I didn’t think it was all that great either! Interestingly enough it got an Oscar nom today. hmm.

most sequels are just the beginning of a downward slope of disappointment that leads to disaster. It’s happening to The Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, happened with Cars, and so much more.

The film was fun to watch though. Ska-doosh! 🙂

25 01 2012
Ipodman

Good point about sequels, but I actually think Madagascar 2 is on par, if not better than the first…

28 01 2012
fogsmoviereviews

I liked it well enough.

I think a big part of the problem with the less laughs was that Po’s character had to change. Much of the humor in 1 came from the fact that he was a fat klutz. And/or didnt know Kung Fu. That was gone now… its hard to replace.

I wouldnt even come close to saying its on par with the first, but I wouldnt say it was a cash grab…

I guess I have this films back on this one to an extent. LOL

28 01 2012
Ipodman

Yeah, sequels are hard to do like that. Now I’m worried for the How To Train Your Dragon sequel…

18 02 2012
MeAllOverThePlace

Agreed that the major problem lies with the fact that pt. 2 couldn’t capitalize on Po’s clumsiness. Also: It lacked the turtle. And people (or maybe also just me) love turtles. Slightly less than kittens, but still.

And: There is going to be a How to train your dragon sequel? Mmmh, let’s wait and see.

While I agree with the general sentiment of the review that this felt more like a mix of a re-hash and cash-cow, I would like to point out how hilariously awesome it is to have your main villain be a peacock. Ha. Of all animals I can think of this one comes in far back on the list of potentially threatening animals. And I love that.

19 02 2012
Ipodman

You are right, the turtle was missing!

Peacocks… meh…

Please leave a comment!

