Unknown – Movie Review

24 12 2011

I initially thought that Unknown was going to be another brutal action flick similar to Taken. Turns out I’m only half correct. This film does have a substantial amount of exciting action, but it’s also a suspense thriller which unfortunately doesn’t hit the highs that you want it to.

The awesome Liam Neeson plays a guy called Martin Harris who is involved in a fatal car accident. Upon recovering from a four-day coma, he realises that his identity has been stolen and his wife (played coldly by Mad Men‘s January Jones) doesn’t recognise him anymore. Confused and dazed, he now has to find out what on earth is going on. It’s this kind of film where you are just waiting for the big reveal, and you expect it to be some kind of mind-blowing revelation. The twist of Unknown did surprise me, but everything else is sub-par at best.

A couple of arguable plot holes here and there, some plot devices to keep the story going and one pretty blatant product placement are all packed into a well-shot but ultimately lukewarm thriller. Unknown is recommended for Liam Neeson fans, but watch Taken first if you haven’t.

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 12 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

For some reason, I don’t remember this movie lol. I know I watched it but I don’t remember it LOL. I may have to watch it again. Amazing review as always. I want to wish you and your family a very, Merry Christmas my friend 🙂

26 12 2011
Ipodman

Thanks, Kay!

28 12 2011
scarletsp1der

Unknown is one of those films that just doesn’t do all it set out to do. I think part of the reason is Neeson’s involvement. While I love Neeson, they should’ve picked someone else to avoid the whole “Taken” comparison.

29 12 2011
Ipodman

Well, I’m looking forward to the real Taken sequel…

30 12 2011
cineramaetcetera

is there going to be a sequel? haven’t seen unknown yet but I have the DVD 🙂

30 12 2011
Ipodman

I believe there is a sequel coming soon…

Please leave a comment!

