The Muppets – Movie Review

10 12 2011

Thank goodness these Muppets are not CGI or motion capture!

The Muppets in The Muppets look real because THEY ARE REAL. All the Muppets are very well handled and the voice acting is superb. Right from the start of the film, we are deliberately shown that these Muppets are not stiff and dead, but rather flexible and very much alive. Of course grown ups are intelligent enough to know that the Muppets are non-living things, but it’s that Muppet magic which makes you forget for a moment.

The story of this 2011 Muppet revival revolves around the destruction of the Muppet theater. Now the Muppets must put on a show and raise enough funds to help save their beloved concert hall. The whole gang is back, including Kermit the Frog, Fozzie Bear, Gonzo, Animal, Miss Piggy and many more (although some get more screen time than others). Statler and Waldorf appear for quite a bit and provide some of the smartest and funniest lines of the year.

The two human protagonists are played by Jason Segel (Forgetting Sarah Marshall) and Amy Adams (Enchanted), and they certainly have the singing and dancing chops to be in this film. All the musical segments are brilliant, including one particular scene in which Chris Cooper does the unexpected. And if you are wondering – Yes, Kermit the Frog sings “Rainbow Connection”.

Negative points: The Muppets doesn’t contain any sense of danger whatsoever, and I was surprised that Disney didn’t pull off another heart wrenching, tear jerking finale a la Toy Story 3. In fact, there was only one scene somewhere in the middle of the film where the audience is allowed to sympathise with the characters and even that got diluted with comedy. Also, the romance between Segel and Adams’ characters never really got much focus, which was a huge waste.

2011’s The Muppets questions whether The Muppets is still appealing to today’s audience, and I think this film proves that it definitely is. The Muppets is full of lovable characters, entertaining musical numbers and hilarious fourth-wall-breaking comedy. Between Alvin and the Chipmunks 3 and The Muppets, I say bring the entire family to the latter.

Actions

Information

21 responses

10 12 2011
secretriddle

Great review! I think I might even go a bit higher, at 3.5 out of 4! This was one of my favourite films of the year just for its fun factor alone!

11 12 2011
Ipodman

I agree, this film definitely has the biggest “fun factor” of the year.

10 12 2011
secretriddle

P.S Long time no talk. I’ve been so busy with school and grad school applications. I’ll get back to posting reviews more often within the next week. Hope we can get our usual back and forth going again dude.

Also, are you going to check out The Dark Knight Rises Prologue? I was thinking of making an impressions piece for the different film fans I know. I’d love to have yours and a couple of other notable dudes from the Hype.

11 12 2011
Ipodman

Not sure if my country is getting the prologue, so I can’t confirm anything now…

11 12 2011
fictionworms

I am so excited about this movie! But I think my dad is even more excited than me xD We arranged to see it together at the cinema 😀

11 12 2011
Ipodman

Hope you have a good time with your dad!

11 12 2011
Peter Germany

I’m quite looking forward to seeing this film, simply because it’ll bring back a lot of childhood memories 😀

12 12 2011
Ipodman

Hope you enjoy the movie!

12 12 2011
TBM

Thanks for the review. I loved the Muppets when I was a kid and I’m looking forward to seeing this one and being a kid for a couple of hours.

12 12 2011
Ipodman

You are welcome!

13 12 2011
scarletsp1der

great review. You already know I’m a fan of this one. Real glad you got to see it and liked it! Ready for Chipmunks 3? hahaha jk.

14 12 2011
Ipodman

I didn’t even watch 1 and 2 lol.

19 12 2011
fogsmoviereviews

It’s almost sad, iPod, that credit has to be given that the Muppets are tangible…

Not to blame you in any way for making that point, its a great point, thats not what I’m saying… it’s just almost a sad state on the film industry, isnt it?

Meanwhile, good job, I love this one, I’m @ 4 out of 4 on this, but you give it its due! 😀

20 12 2011
Ipodman

And I think kids will find this movie very refreshing because the Muppets are real things and not CGIed characters like the Smurfs, Alvin and the Chipmunks etc.

20 12 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Hope so, yeah…

19 12 2011
Kim

Unfortunately we get to see that movie in 2012 😦

21 12 2011
Ipodman

Oh no… I’m guessing the delay is because they have to dub it (?)

19 12 2011
CMrok93

Longtime Muppet fans will undoubtedly have more fun than young ones, but for the most part, it’s a witty, delightful romp, that shows you that you can still be funny, without ever being mean still in 2011. Good review.

21 12 2011
Ipodman

You have a great point, this movie proves that funny doesn’t have to be the “Hangover” type of humour.

23 12 2011
Heretic

Nostalgia it’s best!

23 12 2011
Ipodman

I’m too young for The Muppets to be nostalgia tho… 😐

Please leave a comment!

