Real Steel – Movie Review

6 11 2011

When Steven Spielberg’s name came up as executive producer, I could already guess that this is going to be the same whole E.T. thing in which a boy will be at some random place and will find either an alien or a robot and then they become best friends blah blah blah… oh, don’t forget the father and son relationship!

But so what if this is another one of those Spielberg tales, Real Steel is a smashing movie. And by smashing, I mean that there is a lot of smashing going on. More specifically, robot smashing. We only see the robots duke it out in restricted boxing ring scenarios, so there isn’t any kind of building-wrecking mayhem a la Transformers, if that is what you think this is.

Speaking of, a common criticism of Transformers is that it spends too much time on the humans and keeps us waiting impatiently to see the robots again. Real Steel gives us the robots we came for, but also includes a set of human characters that we (sort of) care about by the end of the film. And unlike in Transformers, the different robot designs in Real Steel are distinct enough to tell apart. [+1]

Twelve year old Dakota Goyo plays the little boy character, and he is the one to watch. Hugh “Wolverine” Jackman goes topless in one scene, and his body is to die for. Evangeline “Freckles” Lilly (where are all my LOST fans?!) appears as his love interest, and we get to see her shoulders a lot. The cast is bogged down by a very rusty script, but I don’t think the target audience of young kids really care about script-writing.

Amidst all the hard-hitting robot smackdowns and sports movie cliches, what makes this film work is a prevalent and compelling father and son relationship. Real Steel is one of the biggest cheese crackers you will eat in your life, but it is also one of the tastiest.

Actions

Information

13 responses

6 11 2011
The Hook

I agree, this movie rocked! My daugher and I loved every predictable minute! Great choice to review, my friend!

7 11 2011
Ipodman

Thanks, Hook! Glad you and your daughter enjoyed this movie!

7 11 2011
fogsmoviereviews

“Cheese Cracker” is right. LOL!

But I had to admit I liked it as well. It’s easy to pick apart if you’re so inclined, but you wind up not wanting to…

Fun flick.

Oh. And I remember “Freckles” LOL. Glad to see her getting work outside of TV, but geez she looked short compared to Jackman!

7 11 2011
Ipodman

Did she really look short? I didn’t notice, I was too busy looking at Hugh Jackman o.O

8 11 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Yeah. Real short. Cute though. I’d take her. 😀

8 11 2011
scarletsp1der

this was a very fun review to read, Ipodman. I must say that I agree with you, esp on the Transformers point. I didn’t however enjoy the film as much as you.

I found myself bored during the 1st half. But you’re right. it is a smashing time!

good review!

11 11 2011
Ipodman

Thanks!

The first half of the movie sets up the characters in a very stiff manner but whatever, I think kids will love this movie.

23 11 2011
cineramaetcetera

cool review! I was also expecting a generic robot movie but the excellent cast truly blew me away. I thought it was a lot like Rocky with robots 🙂

23 11 2011
Ipodman

It’s exactly like Rocky really…

1 12 2011
lish

I had been hearing that this movie was actually pretty good, but now I’ll definitely have to check it out.

5 12 2011
Ipodman

Yeah you should, this movie definitely surpasses people’s low expectations.

30 12 2011
cineramaetcetera

I loved this movie and thought it was one of the best of the year 🙂

30 12 2011
Ipodman

It’s the best Hugh Jackman movie of the year (excluding his cameo in X-Men First Class).

Please leave a comment!

