Brown Eyed Girls – Sixth Sense – Music Video Review

25 09 2011

Abracadabra has one of the most addictive and catchy tunes of any kind of music. Yeah, I think it’s that good. However, I find it very difficult to name or even remember any other song from South Korean girl group Brown Eyed Girls (B.E.G.). Before you call me a hater (again), I assure you that I do not hate these four ladies. In fact, I think that they are brilliant performers, and that’s why it’s a shame that I’m only attracted to only one song.

B.E.G.’s “comeback” is called Sixth Sense, and this is one hard-edged but uncomfortable music video. It follows the mature style that you are familiar with if you have seen previous B.E.G. videos, but it’s not as freakish or grotesque as something like say, Narsha’s Biribaba. Maybe it’s just my own personal taste, but I don’t like the look or feel of Sixth Sense. It’s the same problem that I have with some of 2NE1’s music videos, where everything is blown up way too loud and bombastic.

The song itself is pretty disappointing with a chorus that I don’t even remember what it sounds like. The dancing is okay, but I would have preferred more dancing scenes instead of individual members posing around. If you are a B.E.G. fan, then here’s the new music video and album for your enjoyment. For me, I’m sticking with Abracadabra.

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 09 2011
Recommended Reading – September 25th, 2011 « International Wota

[…] Brown Eyed Girls – Sixth Sense – Music Video Review – I Am Ipodman Ipodman has only one BEG song he likes… and after this, still has only one. […]

26 09 2011
The Hook

They have a cool look!

28 09 2011
Ipodman

Yea, they have an edgy and mature look…

10 10 2011
thefutureisidol

I’m afraid I have to agree with you, I’m so disappointed with this. tyvärr.

11 10 2011
Ipodman

It’s disappointing, but I’m sure B.E.G. fans like it more than us…

14 10 2011
Lynn

Does anyone not understand the profound symbolism that pervades this music video?!?!?! Geez, I figured someone like you could get it.
It’s about the media’s control (specifically male media moguls) over female celebrities.
Ga in: Her chained to the chair with a man’s coat over her represents being controlled by men. Her smudged makeup in the dance scenes resemble bruises, show that beauty and sexuality come at a painful price (plastic surgery).
Jea: The branches she’s tied to resemble the crown of thorns Jesus Christ wore when crucified. Similarly, young women are being exploited and sacrified for the sake of the public’s entertainment.
Narsha: She’s portrayed as a rabid animal, which is a play on the term “sex kitten” (sexually exploited). She’s constantly being watched (shown by the flashlights surrounding her), driving her to the point of insanity.
Miryo: She’s chained to 2 lions, which represent male authority. She’s standing in front of microphones being forced to say things by her company that she doesn’t mean.
Miryo is the one who really delivers the message of the song, shown by her breaking free of the chains.
Does everyone seriously not bother to consider that some music videos are “weird” for a reason? *cough cough* symbolism so deep that most people couldn’t understand it like you *cough*

15 10 2011
Ipodman

I’m sorry that we aren’t as intelligent as you.

Please leave a comment!

