Reading Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

6 09 2011

If someone were to ask me “what’s your favourite movie?”, the answer has been and always will be – Jurassic Park.

Funny story. One day I was stuck in the mall because it was raining outside and I didn’t have an umbrella with me so I couldn’t walk home. I ended up in the library browsing through random shelves and trying not to sneeze too often. After a while I saw Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton and thought to myself – wow, I can’t believe I have never read the novel that my favourite movie is based on! /my JP story.

The Jurassic Park book is very interesting, but has a very different tone and focus from the movie by Steven Spielberg. Spoiler: The ending is drastically different. I prefer the movie ending because it is a somewhat “happy” ending, but the cynical conclusion of the book seems to carry a heavier message that adds more meaning to what is essentially a monster story.

I like that the book has a lot of scientific talk about chaos theory and other stuff ย that I cannot remember.ย It’s good science-fiction because it talks about science in a way that makes sense, but later on goes into places which are obviously fiction. In the end you are left wondering where exactly was that cut-off point in which science turned into fiction… (to make life easier, I just believe the whole thing.)

And since we are already talking about Jurassic Park, the Jurassic Park Trilogy Blu-ray (I repeat, the JURASSIC PARK TRILOGY BLU-RAY) is expected to be released on 25 Oct 2011. RAWR!

Actions

Information

14 responses

6 09 2011
TBM

I read this book back in high school, so I was younger and had a lot more energy. I remember getting sucked into the book and stayed up to 4am to finish it. I’m trying to decide which I like better the movie or book. I don’t normally say this since I usually prefer the book (I’m a book lover) but I liked both equally.

7 09 2011
Ipodman

I think the book has a very strong underlying message, but you need the movie to really see what all the dinosaurs look like.

7 09 2011
cineramaetcetera

I have never read Jurassic Park and never felt compelled to because I liked the movie so much. I agree that it is one of the best movies ever made because during its generation, it elevated the level of Sci Fi… and even now that many years have past since its release, it still holds its own against recent high profile blockbusters ๐Ÿ™‚
Great post ๐Ÿ™‚

7 09 2011
Ipodman

Yea, JP is great! The dinosaurs look good even by today’s standards.

7 09 2011
Bruce (Spikor)

Great book, great movie. I watched the movie twice in theatres, and several times on VHS when I worked in a video store. Probably haven’t seen it since ’98 or ’99. Read the book in ’94. Enjoyed both greatly. I remember thinking the same as you regarding the endings… though it’s been too long now for me to remember the exact differences.

Am I crazy? I seem to remember thinking about vegetable farms at the end.

Definitely due for a rewatch and a re-read. Though I doubt I’ll squeeze in the re-read.

7 09 2011
Ipodman

Wow, you really are a first generation JP fan! I’ll definitely be watching it on constant repeat once I get my hands on the Blu-ray, don’t recall anything about vegetable farms though…

7 09 2011
Kyle

I sort of remember the book, I read about half of it in middle school. I always loved Jurassic Park, I still think Jeff Goldblum was amazing in it. He gave such a great performance that he should have won some sort of award! Other than that, Jurassic Park was really ground breaking for its time. Hopefully the Blu-ray version doesn’t get ruined like the Star Wars Blu-ray release.

7 09 2011
Ipodman

Yea, Jurassic Park is a piece of cinema history (highest grossing movie at that time). I don’t think the movie has been tinkered with for the Blu-ray (but too bad for Star Wars).

13 09 2011
scarletsp1der

i’ve read other Crichton books: Prey, Andromeda Strain for example, but I never read JP. so glad you enjoyed the book.

good pick for favorite movie!

23 09 2011
Ipodman

Funny, I have Prey on my bookshelf but have never read it ๐Ÿ˜

24 09 2011
ianthecool

I’m excited for the Blu-ray for sure, though I do wish they were also available separately (as JP is also one of my favourites but the two sequels are really nothing special). I also liked the book a lot but I’m perfectly fine with the movie deviating slightly. The movie had a certain mood it was going for that was different from the book.

25 09 2011
Ipodman

Nothing special? Did you not watch the two sequels (Lol…) All 3 JPs are among the best movies of all time! ๐Ÿ˜€

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

I liked the first movie, but I have never read the book, either. In fact, I’m pretty sure it’s been on my bookshelf for a few years. Probably should dust it off at some point. I also read Crichton’s “Prey” last year; another solid read.

7 10 2011
Ipodman

Ah, Prey is the one I have on my bookshelf but haven’t read yet ๐Ÿ˜

Please leave a comment!

