Watching Sucker Punch [Extended Cut] on Blu-ray

2 09 2011

Slo-mo lover Zack Snyder of 300 and Watchmen strikes again with Sucker Punch, a movie in which a group of skimpy dressed girls run around and shoot guns. Watching this movie again, I still stand by what I said in my movie review (read it here).

The Extended Cut on Blu-ray has a couple of new scenes added in, most notably a full-blown musical number and a “love scene” between Babydoll (Emily Browning) and the Doctor (Jon Hamm). Don’t get too excited – we still don’t get to see those dances that supposedly happen every time the girls go into their video game world, and the “love scene” has no sex or nudity at all.

If I were to show off my home theater system, I’ll probably use the Samurai fight or the Robot fight, but in the end do I really want to put on this movie at all… Oh, there’s a director walk-on commentary which I tried out for a bit, and Zack Snyder is not boring to listen to.

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 09 2011
dirtywithclass

I watched Sucker Punch recently, and i think i am the only one who didn’t hate it

2 09 2011
Ipodman

I didn’t hate it… but I didn’t love it either.

4 09 2011
cineramaetcetera

It wasn’t horrible I hated it. However, I’m willing to forgive director Zack Snyder for it because he brought us 300. Slo Mo lover huh? Couldn’t have said it better myself.

4 09 2011
Ipodman

He uses slo-mo in everything… he also does this side-scrolling fight thing where the protagonists have to fight through a long straight row of bad guys (in slo-mo of course).

4 09 2011
cineramaetcetera

that was my problem with sucker punch as well. i think he got too carried away with the slo mo

5 09 2011
Ipodman

The slo-mo can get quite tiresome after a while, but I think the story and the characters is still the main problem.

Please leave a comment!

