Source Code – Movie Review

30 08 2011

If you’ve seen the trailer for Source Code, then you already know what it’s about. Jake Gyllenhaal plays a soldier who is inside some sort of Matrix-esque computer machine thingy, and he is able to travel into another person’s memory and then live as that person for eight minutes. The concept of Source Code is completely outrageous and ridiculous, and I approve.

Michelle Monaghan plays the girl whom our hero falls in love with, and that’s where the story gets interesting. Is Jake Gyllenhaal able to break the rules of the Source Code and save this girl? What really happens after the eight minutes are up? WTF is the Source Code? I’m still scratching my head while writing this review because honestly, it makes less and less sense the more you think about it.

What this film does very well, is that it keeps you in constant suspense and excitement. Even though you are going through the same eight minutes over and over again, there is something different each time, and you discover more and more as the plot unravels. Duncan Jones (Moon) is proving himself to be a brilliant director, and Jake Gyllenhaal provides a convincing character to root for.

Source Code contains some human relationships that it wants us to care about, but I wasn’t so involved in the emotional aspect of the story. I was more interested in finding out whether the Source Code works or not, and the conclusion did not disappoint. Source Code is nowhere near “mind-blowing”, but it’s good science-fiction and you should watch it.

Actions

Information

25 responses

30 08 2011
Kenneth Holliday

Nice review. I enjoyed the movie as well. They did a good job making a world you loved to watch and a hero you could root for even though he seemed to be against impossible odds.

30 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks. I agree with you, the hero is someone you want to see succeed.

30 08 2011
CMrok93

The inspired direction from Duncan Jones kept me on the edge of my seat, I just wish that the script didn’t end up being so lame, especially with that crap ending. However, I had a good time with it. Good Review!

30 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! I am satisfied with the ending, it doesn’t feel lame at all.

30 08 2011
Anonymous

mind boggling great movie!

31 08 2011
Ipodman

I won’t call it “mind boggling”, but it’s a good movie.

30 08 2011
TBM

I was bummed that I missed this in the theaters. I was supposed to see it. I met two friends for a drink and then we were supposed to go to the movie. But we ended up talking and drinking and missed it. I’ll have to get it on DVD.

31 08 2011
Ipodman

Definitely get it on DVD…

30 08 2011
Kenneth Holliday

Definitely pick it up. It’s worth a watch.

31 08 2011
Ipodman

Yep.

31 08 2011
fogsmoviereviews

I thought it was pretty mind blowing… it worked for me. Very well. Including the ending.

I think the best part is that it worked on two different levels. On the train, in the code, it’s a thriller. Once he’s out of the code and back in the pod, its a science fiction movie. I thought both of them worked really well.

31 08 2011
Ipodman

Now that you mentioned the dual-world thing, this movie actually feels a lot like Avatar… I would describe it as Avatar + Minority Report

31 08 2011
dirtywithclass

I will have to get this…somehow

*grumbles about netflix new pricing thing*

1 09 2011
Ipodman

Never used Netflix… 😐

1 09 2011
Kenneth Holliday

I use Netflix for streaming only. It’s great.

1 09 2011
Ipodman

I’m not in America so I don’t know, lol.

1 09 2011
Kenneth Holliday

Ah that makes more sense. Haha.

1 09 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I never got a chance to see this film, but I heard it was great. And with this review, I think I will check it out finally. Great review

1 09 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! Definitely check it out, it’s a smart movie.

1 09 2011
scarletsp1der

I didn’t quite know what to think of this one. Hence the lack of it’s review on my site. But it was okay. I just didn’t buy into it all that much.

I hated the play-rewind-play-rewind back and forth. But you’re right in that Duncan Jones does a good job still with it. One of Gyllenhaal’s best performances, just probably not his best movie.

1 09 2011
Ipodman

The time travel thing was quite interesting to me. I liked the slightly confusing yet very compelling story.

1 09 2011
The Hook

I’ve been hesitant to check this one out; thanks for making up my mind!

1 09 2011
Ipodman

You are welcome.

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

The movie is what it is, and it was good in that way. I really like Gyllenhaal, and I’m not sure the movie would have been as good without him. I thought it would have been a funny twist if after he kissed the woman for the first time on the train (not really knowing who she was) if she would have said, “But I’m your SISTER!”. Anyway, not bad for a popcorn flick but not as good as “Moon”.

7 10 2011
Ipodman

Yea, the movie stays true to what it’s supposed to be. I like that it’s a thinking movie but yet has enough thrills to satisfy the popcorn-eating audience.

Please leave a comment!

