The Hunger Games – May the movie be ever in your favour

29 08 2011

So I finished reading the Suzanne Collins “sci-fi” novel The Hunger Games. Why are people calling it sci-fi? What’s so sci-fi about it? Anyway, the book is good… but not great.

I think The Hunger Games and its upcoming film adaptation is hyped up waaay too high. As if it’s locked in as the next Harry Potter or the next Twilight or basically the next big thing. Meh.

Katniss will be played by Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone, X-Men: First Class), and she is the only reason why I even bothered to read this novel. Peeta will be played by Josh Hutcherson, who very nearly became Peter Parker/Spider-Man in 2012’s The Amazing Spider-Man*. Does he look like Peeta? Meh.

So after reading the book and watching the teaser trailer (yes, I am THAT updated) for The Hunger Games, my excitement level is – meh.

 Katniss (Jennifer Lawrence) & Peeta (Josh Hutcherson)

*PS. The role of Spidey eventually went to Andrew Garfield, who is a far better choice imo.

Peter Parker / Spider-Man (Andrew Garfield) & Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone)

Actions

Information

10 responses

30 08 2011
cineramaetcetera

LOL! I see you’re not a fan of the books or the upcoming movie or is that an understatement? 🙂 I am actually a big fan of the book and am looking forward to seeing how it pans out in the theaters.

30 08 2011
Ipodman

I like the book, but it’s not special or anything.

31 08 2011
fictionworms

Meh- haha xD
Unlike you, I loved The Hunger Games (more than Twilight). But still, I’m not sure about the movie. The actors don’t look (at all) like the Katniss and Peeta in my head! :/ I haven’t seen the teaser yet, I am going to now 🙂

1 09 2011
Ipodman

I like the Katniss, but the Peeta… meh.

1 09 2011
The Hook

This has been pegged as THE franchise to watch. We’ll see…

1 09 2011
Ipodman

The Teaser is slowly growing on me, but still meh…

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

My son just finished reading this and was excited to hear it was being released as a movie. It’s in my reading queue.

A side note . . . I’m still mystified (and a little miffed) that Spiderman is ALREADY being re-vamped. I think the Raimi films are among the best superhero films out there, trailing only – and distantly – behind Nolan’s Batman films. Anyway, sorry for straying off topic.

7 10 2011
Ipodman

I am also against Spider-Man being rebooted so soon… but did you hear the supposed plot of “Spider-man 4”? It had some wacky ideas!

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

No, I haven’t . . . is it really being hyped as SpiderMan 4? Different actors, different director? Same series? UGGHH!

8 10 2011
Ipodman

No, when I said “Spider-Man 4”, I meant Raimi’s 4th Spider-Man film that was already in production but eventually got cancelled in favour of the reboot.

Please leave a comment!

