Rango – Movie Review

26 08 2011

Rango is directed by Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the Caribbean Trilogy), and this is a very unique and quirky animated film. The tone and style of Rango is far outside of Pixar or Dreamworks, but that doesn’t mean the kids won’t enjoy it. In fact, I will recommend Rango to anyone and everyone.

Johnny Depp is the voice of Rango, a pet chameleon who gets lost in the desert and arrives at a town called Dirt. He meets Beans, voiced by Isla Fisher, as well as other critters as they get caught up in a conspiracy regarding the town’s water supply. The story is much like Chinatown, but it’s also The Good The Bad and the Ugly and at times even becomes Raiders of the Lost Ark. What a mix!

Rango has high-octave action scenes which are exciting to watch, and also lots of funny moments that will tickle both young and old. There are many interesting character designs, and the film does a good job of giving each character his or her own personality. The plot is easy to follow, but the storytelling becomes too abstract and bizarre for comfort at certain points. Thankfully, the film manages to pull itself back on track by the end and finishes off on a respectable note.

I was surprised at how intricate the animation looks, and found myself deeply engrossed in what Rango and his pals are up to. Despite being too “mature” on the surface, Rango is something the whole family can watch together, and I don’t mind seeing further adventures with this odd but likable chameleon.

Actions

Information

22 responses

26 08 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I never saw Rango in its entirety.. but I’m glad you posted a review about it. I can’t wait to see it on a lazy day. Great review as always.

26 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks very much!

26 08 2011
Heretic

Rango was a lot of fun. And I aghree, the animation was spectacular…almost too real!

26 08 2011
Ipodman

Yea, the movie looks life-like!

26 08 2011
cineramaetcetera

I loved this movie, although the details in the animation did gross me out a bit. 🙂 great review!

26 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! You are right, some of the details are disgusting, but disgustingly good 🙂

27 08 2011
cineramaetcetera

I completely agree 🙂 it was great fun!

26 08 2011
renxkyoko

I’m new to your blog, and I think you write really good reviews, so much better than these snobbish well- known critics. I actually watch what these critics say are bad movies. 7 out of 10, I’d find them good.

26 08 2011
Ipodman

Glad that you like my reviews, I am always eager to share my thoughts about the movies I watch 🙂

26 08 2011
lei5

total riot! Depp was awesome!

26 08 2011
Ipodman

Yes, Depp gives this movie a lot of flavour!

26 08 2011
TBM

I loved this movie. I laughed all the way through it. Depp is one of my favorites and this movie did not disappoint me.

26 08 2011
Ipodman

I laughed many times, this movie is very funny in its own off-beat way.

27 08 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Great movie. Really top notch. On top of which it’s completely uniqe… I mean, its as if they tossed out the mold regarding kids movies. None of the characters are cute and cuddly (youre right, the character designs ARE excellent), everything is dirty, and the film is chock-full of surrealistic touches.

I loved it. Nice choice to point your readers to iPod!

27 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks for your support!

27 08 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Of course! You as well!

29 08 2011
CMrok93

This is a whole lot of fun that may think it’s hilarious, when it’s just chuckles here and there but Verbinski and Depp keep this fun, exciting, and altogether a good ride I was glad I saw. Good Review!

30 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! Verbinski & Depp is an effective combination.

1 09 2011
The Hook

This one seemed like “Fear and Loathing” in animated style!
Nice review.

1 09 2011
Ipodman

You are right, this movie feels a lot like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, the character of Rango even seems to be the same as Johnny Depp’s character in that movie!

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

Of course, there’s a blatant F&L reference at the beginning of the movie, when the smiley-faced Rango lands on Thompson’s windshield.

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised by this. It’s rare that I genuinely enjoy a non-Pixar animated family film, but Rango was definitely engrossing and original.

Good review!

7 10 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! Rango is definitely a good family film.

Please leave a comment!

