The King’s Speech / True Grit – Quick Movie Reviews

11 08 2011

The King’s Speech is a truly inspiring story about a man who overcomes his stammer in order to deliver an important speech. Colin Firth’s performance as King George VI is incredible, and Geoffrey Rush as his speech therapist is equally terrific. There is a secondary story involving King George’s brother that is very compelling, and the film dwells deeply into this King’s dilemmas and pain. The conclusion is uplifting and powerful but also predictable, and thus feels a bit plain. Nevertheless, The King’s Speech is a magnificent film, and deserves all its critical acclaim.

Hailee Steinfeld plays a young girl who is hell-bent on avenging her father’s murder. No, she doesn’t become a superhero. Rather, she teams up with the Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon characters as they hunt down their wanted man played by Josh Brolin. 2010’s True Grit plays out as a good Western, but it’s also a heartwarming story about loyalty and friendship. Performances from the entire cast are great, especially newcomer Steinfeld. True Grit gets a little boring in its middle act when the story becomes a simple revenge tale, but later on it goes into unpredictable places that had me on the edge of my seat.

Actions

Information

22 responses

11 08 2011
cineramaetcetera

I have the DVDs in my TBW pile but I haven’t watched either of the two. I didn’t know Matt Damon was in True Grit, so I might start with watching that one. Thanks for sharing this great review 🙂

11 08 2011
Ipodman

You are welcome 🙂

I, too, didn’t know that Matt Damon was in True Grit…

11 08 2011
scarletsp1der

Great scores for these films! I agree.

Not sure I agree with your opening statement for The King’s Speech though. I would say that’s what happens in the film, but far from what the film is actually about.

however, glad you liked both of the movies. They ranked among the top of 2010 for me too! http://wp.me/pWaTa-CN

11 08 2011
Ipodman

Nice list you have there! I used to have a list for 2010, and I regret deleting it 😐

11 08 2011
TBM

I love both of these movies. The first time I saw True Grit I didn’t understand all of the hype. I thought it was a good movie but everyone was raving about it. Then I saw it again and I really enjoyed it more the second time. Both are fantastic.

11 08 2011
Ipodman

Yes, both are fantastic. I’ll certainly watch True Grit again, just for the cowboy dialogue!

11 08 2011
TBM

Jeff Bridges can be a little difficult to understand sometimes. But I grew up around cowboys. I’m used to it.

12 08 2011
Ipodman

Orly? I couldn’t catch 90% of the things anyone was sayin’ lol.

12 08 2011
TBM

🙂 Now that I live in Boston my friends say I can follow movies like the Town better than most since I’m used to the accent. All of my life experiences enhance my movie experiences.

12 08 2011
Ipodman

That’s quite interesting, lol…

12 08 2011
dirtywithclass

I liked true grit a lot more than i thought i would. And Kings Speech was also good.

12 08 2011
Ipodman

I had high expectations for both films, thank goodness both are excellent.

16 08 2011
Kim

I want to see The King’s speech 🙂 Sounds fantastic!

17 08 2011
Ipodman

Yes, it’s fantastic 🙂

17 08 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I saw True Grit and loved it.. so your review was excellent. But I always wanted to know how the Kings Speech was. I think I will watch this. Loved your reviews as always

17 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! Kings Speech has a more compelling story, but both are great films.

29 09 2011
MeAllOverThePlace

Kings’ Speech to me is just a feel good movie for a lazy Sunday afternoon. I really didn’t think it was anything worth an Oscar and I am really surprised at all the attention it got. It’s nice, but groundbreaking? To be honest I didn’t even find it that compelling. A King-to-be with too much of an Ego to accept that he’s got to work on his stutter a little harder to make it go away? Sorry, but my sympathies run low.
Having said that, it’s unbelievably refreshing to see Helena Bonham-Carter in something not directed by Tim Burton or requiring her to be a wacky weird witch of some sorts.

1 10 2011
Ipodman

Yea, HBC has a non-wacky role here, but while you are watching her, you still think about Harry Potter or whatever lol.

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

I thought King’s Speech was over-rated. It’s good enough for what it is and had great acting, but I ultimately fell asleep.

True Grit just underscores what a great actor Jeff Bridges has become over the years. All the performances were fantastic. As an English major, i was a little taken aback by the lack of contractions used in their language. Made for an interesting script.

7 10 2011
Ipodman

I am not an English major, so I have no idea what you are talking about… but True Grit certainly has some interesting dialogue.

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

“don’t” = contraction of “do not”. So all the characters avoid “don’t”, “won’t”, “isn’t”, “aren’t”, “I’m”, “You’re”, etc.

Something we don’t even notice (there I go contracting again!) in our daily lives, but it’s an interesting component of the film.

🙂

8 10 2011
Ipodman

Ahhh now I understand. You must be really paying close attention to the film if you can pick out something like that!

Please leave a comment!

