Paul – Movie Review

8 08 2011

Simon Pegg and Nick Frost (aka the Shaun of the Dead / Hot Fuzz duo) star in the science-fiction comedy Paul. This film is directed by Greg Mottola (Superbad), and it’s not only a mature roadtrip comedy, but also a tribute to nerd culture in general. I laughed out loud a few times, but I don’t think the entire concept worked as well as it should have.

Seth Rogen is the voice of Paul, who is just a rude and vulgar boy in the shape of what everyone thinks an alien looks like. The film tries to turn Paul into a cute E.T.-like creature that we are supposed to love, but I didn’t like him at all. However, I like the story of how Paul crashed onto Earth and got involved in some top secret business which is actually quite clever.

Pegg and Frost have great chemistry, and the two of them are always funny when on screen together. They play two nerds who are travelling to Comic-Con, and on the road back, they bump into Paul. One thing I like about this film is that these guys went totally crazy when they realised that they have discovered a real alien. Their reaction, and also other people’s reactions to seeing Paul are some of the funniest moments of the film.

Kristen Wiig and Jason Bateman have a good amount of screen time, although it’s a pity that Bateman doesn’t get a lot of funny lines. The film has a few action scenes, which are mostly the easy car chases that you usually see in comedies. Towards the end, the film wants you to feel the danger that the protagonists are in, but I didn’t really care if any of them lived or died.

The homage function of Paul includes fun references to Star Trek, Star Wars, Back To The Future, Flash Gordon, Battlestar Galactica, and many many more of your favourite fanboy franchises. There’s even something big in regards to Alien that is no doubt my favourite reference in the film. Paul is sincere, but I don’t think it’s worth going out of your way to see.

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 08 2011
cineramaetcetera

I think this was the worst collaboration of Frost and Pegg because they tried too much to Americanize their humor. It wasn’t too bad though but not at the level that I was expecting from my two favorite Brit comedians. I loved the homage to nerds though. can’t wait to go on my first Comic Con (I dont know when it will be though) 🙂 Great review, as per usual 🙂

8 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! I would love to visit Comic Con too, although the prestige of Comic Con is slowly decreasing in recent years…

8 08 2011
TBM

A tribute to nerds…that made me laugh. I couldn’t get excited about this one and skipped it. Good to know that wasn’t a mistake.

9 08 2011
Ipodman

If you are not attracted to it, then you probably won’t like it that much anyway…

10 08 2011
CMrok93

The numerous sci-fi references were a little annoying after awhile but Rogen is awesome as Paul and the rest of the cast here is just very very funny but I couldn’t help but think that this actually could have been better, given the talent involved. Good Review Man!

11 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! You are right, all the sci-fi references became a little annoying towards the end, but at least they were sincere.

11 08 2011
scarletsp1der

I really had no interest in seeing this one. I tried, and after 25 mins I quit. Your review solidifies it for me. I won’t be going out of my way to see it. Thanks for the good review!

11 08 2011
Ipodman

You are welcome. I think 25 minutes is good enough, most of the fun stuff happens in the beginning anyway…

10 09 2011
fictionworms

You know when Paul says: Baby, you don’t need teeth where were going? At that moment my brother jumped and said: Hey! That’s from Back to the Future! “Where we’re going, we don’t need roads” 🙂 I liked that kind of references in the movie, though I couldn’t identify them all as I’m not really that into Science Fiction. As for the rest of the movie, I didn’t like it that much. I was in the middle of it thinking: “Oh, when is this going to end!” Like you said, it is definitely not worth going out to see it :/

23 09 2011
Ipodman

That Back to the Future reference is kinda obvious if you like Back to the Future… I think you must be a sci-fi movie fan to catch most of the jokes.

Please leave a comment!

