The Prestige vs The Illusionist vs Harry Potter

4 08 2011

Since everyone loves the young wizard Harry Potter, lets take a look at other movies about magic shall we. (Don’t worry, this post has NO SPOILERS)

The first thing that pops to mind is The Prestige vs The Illusionist. These two films are often confused with each other because they were both released in 2006 and both were about magicians. To differentiate, The Prestige is the one with Batman, Wolverine and Black Widow. The Illusionist is the one with the The Incredible Hulk.

I like both movies, but The Prestige wins for me. It’s directed by Christopher “Inception” Nolan, so the style is very slick and the plot contains lots of mind-bending twists and turns. In fact, I think The Prestige is one of the most under-rated movies of all time. The Illusionist feels very dry compared to The Prestige, but it’s more realistic and the ending is somehow more satisfying. That’s not saying The Prestige has a horrible ending, but the conclusion of The Illusionist feels more natural.

So which magician movie do you prefer? Vote now! (You can choose more than one) Don’t forget to leave your comments!

Actions

Information

18 responses

5 08 2011
fogsmoviereviews

I thought Harry Potter would automatically be kicking the other two movies asses, just based on its popularity. Surprisingly not, at least in the early running.

The Prestige is a far superior film to the Illusionist IMO. The Illusionist is a pretty run of the mill flick, and pretty much forgetable.

The prestige has better everything in my book. Including a sick, sick ending. I love that flick.

5 08 2011
Ipodman

I won’t say The Illusionist is forgettable, maybe just a bit plain when you compare it to something more complex like The Prestige. The Illusionist has more human emotion, so I think that’s where it’s better than The Prestige.

5 08 2011
scarletsp1der

Yeah!! The Prestige is winning right now! Can’t go to wrong with Christopher Nolan, Michael Caine, Christian Bale, Hugh Jackman, and Scarlett Johansson! 🙂

I think that is why, though, that The Illusionist didn’t get the just attention that it deserves…since both films came out very close to one another. The star power of The Prestige unfortunately dwarfed the popularity of Ed Norton, Paul Giamatti, and Jessica Biel. I own and love both…but The Prestige wins it for me!

As for HP…for me…”eh!”

-Fun poll!

5 08 2011
Ipodman

Yeah, the cast of The Prestige definitely has more pull… and I never really took notice of Edward Norton until he starred in The Incredible Hulk.

5 08 2011
scarletsp1der

really??

May I recommend a few of his to see?: Fight Club, The Score, The Italian Job, American History X, and Pride and Glory!

He did an excellent job as Dr. Bruce Banner!

5 08 2011
Ipodman

Ok, now I have to go watch those… 😐

6 08 2011
renxkyoko

Ah, I wish I could vote, and though I have seen The Illusionists, I’ve completely forgotten what it is all about. And I’ve not seen “The Prestige”

I think you should see more Edwatd Norton. He was excellent in American History X.

6 08 2011
Ipodman

Yes, I should see more Edward Norton.

Didn’t know that by trying to do something “more interesting” than my usual monotonous movie reviews, I somehow destroyed my credibility overnight 😐

6 08 2011
scarletsp1der

lol. u didn’t destroy any credibility! we all have our likes/dislikes/and undiscovered! haha. there’s still several things I haven’t explored! 🙂 you’re good! our community on the blogosphere is all about learning from each other!

but, yes, you have some Norton catching up to do! 😉

6 08 2011
Ipodman

I have A LOT of Norton catching up to do! It’s weird how much I like him when I haven’t even seen most of his movies. I think it must be his hilarious guest appearance on an episode of Modern Family… love that show!

6 08 2011
secretriddle

The Prestige is an incredible work. Part period piece, part fantasy, part sci-fi. Explores obsession in a way that’s both direct and metaphorica; it’s an immensely satisfying film and my third favourite from Christopher Nolan (who’s my favourite working filmmaker right now).

Comparing it with the best of Harry Potter is kind of like comparing apples and oranges, so that’s a tricky one. Potter is a more traditional fantasy adventure story.

The Illusionist is interesting though because it came out around The Prestige and was always the point of comparison amongst critics. It actually got a better critical reception, but The Prestige has fared better by far amongst audiences. I think the Illusionist is enjoyable, but a more ordinary story. It’s twist at the end is in service of the romance element of the script and plays no real thematic purpose, if I remember correctly. It’s not nearly the film The Prestige is. Actually, Neil Burger (who directed The Illusionist) just released another film called Limitless. I like that film better than The Illusionist..it’s probably one of the better films of 2011.

Good topic though. A lot of good conversation in here.

6 08 2011
Ipodman

I think this comment is even better than my original post 😐

6 08 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Great conversation going Ipod! Nice!

I’m just chiming in to recommend more Norton flicks to you. I would start with his first film “Primal Fear” he is awesome in it.

And if you haven’t seen Rounders… well. That’s a popular one, lets just say that. Of course, the previously recommend Fight Club and American History X are also excellent, I second them both.

8 08 2011
Ipodman

“Great conversation” as in “revealing Ipodman’s ignorance to Edward Norton movies” 😐

Thanks for those extra recommendations, I shall get on it as soon as possible.

8 08 2011
cineramaetcetera

I agree with fogsmoviereviews that Primal Fear was a great Norton flick, also American History X is good.

Anyways, I voted for Harry because I’ve seen the entire 8 chapters and I have yet to see Hugh and Edward’s magician (ehem, Illusionist) movies 🙂

8 08 2011
Ipodman

I knew there were HP fans around… 🙂

I have also watched all 8 HP movies, and I think the first HP is better than both Prestige and Illusionist.

7 10 2011
Grande Falcone

I share your love of the Prestige. Great film by a great filmmaker! And a masterpiece of sleight-of-hand film-making. Much less impressed with the Illusionist (though perhaps because I took it as an attempt to compete with the Prestige). Funny how studios come up with such similarly themed films in parallel.

7 10 2011
Ipodman

The Prestige had lots of skillful film-making, I think Chris “Inception” Nolan pulled that one off pretty well.

And speaking of similar themed movies, this year seems to be the year of the alien invasion.

Please leave a comment!

