2NE1 – Ugly – Music Video Review

4 08 2011

It’s common knowledge by now that 2NE1 is always prepared to shock you with new ideas and concepts. Their new single Ugly certainly shocked me, and it’s not only because of Dara’s Predator dreads.

Just take a look at some of the lyrics: I think I’m ugly / and nobody wants to love me / Just like her I wanna be pretty / I wanna be pretty / Don’t lie to my face / Telling me I’m pretty. Very bold words that make you stop and think about what Dara, Minzy, CL and Bom are trying to say here. I’m not sure how much control the four girls have over the songs they perform, but it seems like they are singing these words with a ton of conviction. So for those of you who are proud to be “Ugly”, this is your anthem.

The music video is pretty well made, definitely more pleasant than the recent I Am The Best. I like how it doesn’t cut to totally different locations like some of their other music videos, but rather the girls walk to different parts of the city to perform the different segments of the song. The look of this music video is very dark and you don’t really get a good look at the girls’ ugly faces, but everything looks very stylistic and ties up nicely at the end.

The song itself sounds good with or without the video, and I’m not trying to be snarky when I say that the English lyrics here make much more sense than those found in 2NE1’s other songs. I like this song, and it would be exciting if 2NE1 tried for some fully English tracks in the future. In fact, I’m counting on it!

Actions

Information

Please leave a comment!

