Captain America The First Avenger – Movie Review

30 07 2011

Let’s start with the elephant in the room. Chris Evans plays Captain America, but he is also The Human Torch, so how is that going to work? You know what, while I was watching Captain America: The First Avenger, I never for one moment looked at him and thought isn’t that The Human Torch? This is a very different role for Evans, and possibly his best performance in a long time. Captain America is an excellent addition to the Marvel movie library.

If you have seen the movie trailer, then you would have seen the summarised version of Cap’s origin. Skinny guy who gets bullied in the streets is injected with superhero serum and becomes muscular soldier. I like that this origin story feels organic and not one of those things where we need to get the superhero out as quick as possible, so everything feels very forced and formulaic. The origin story here is steady and believable.

Cap’s pack of friends includes characters played by Sebastian Stan, Tommy Lee Jones, Dominic Cooper and Hayley Atwell, all giving good performances. Atwell in particular, plays Cap’s love interest, and I found the romantic side of the film to be very interesting. She isn’t the usual “damsel in distress” kind of girl that the hero needs to save. No, she knows how to kick butt and shoot guns in a way that even the dudes are scared.

Hugo Weaving appears as the villain Red Skull, but his character isn’t all that interesting. He’s just the disfigured crazy bad guy who wants to take over the world, and his evil plan wasn’t even clear to me. Maybe I wasn’t paying attention, but I didn’t know what he was trying to do. Nevertheless, the Red Skull still manages to be menacing, and his red head isn’t as cartoony as it could have been. The encounters of Cap and the Red Skull are exciting and all the action scenes look good in 3D.

This film has references to other Marvel Studios films such as Iron Man and Thor, and there’s even a small wink to Indiana Jones. All the references are well controlled and not in-your-face like say, in Iron Man 2. Now that Thor and Cap turned out to be good, I am much more excited for Marvel’s The Avengers film in 2012, where we finally get to see the different superheroes come together. Make Mine Marvel!

Actions

Information

28 responses

30 07 2011
Heretic

Very nicely put. I completely agree that the Red Skull’s purpose was never quite clear. He was definitely trying to take over….something right? His methods were quite hard to comprehend and never made clear before the film’s end. I also appreciated how well the film gave shout outs to the old WW II films of 1950’s.

30 07 2011
Ipodman

I think he was going to bomb something, or deliver something maybe? I don’t know. I also didn’t get why he bombed his own factory.

31 07 2011
Heretic

It was a plot device to create angst, that’s all…in my opinion

30 07 2011
someone who likes films and books

Very nice review and I agree about Red Skull. The character wasn’t really that interesting. His scientist was more of the saving factor during their scenes.

All in all a very nice entertaining film 🙂 😀

30 07 2011
Ipodman

His scientist partner was alright… although I honestly didn’t even remember him until you mentioned him 😐

30 07 2011
TBM

I’m so glad you liked it. Especially since the Green Lantern was a disappointment.

30 07 2011
Ipodman

Yeah, it’s good to end off the superhero season with a good movie rather than a terrible one.

30 07 2011
TBM

I’ll have some time in a couple of weeks and I am looking forward to seeing it. What other movies are you excited about?

30 07 2011
Ipodman

With Cap done, I think the year is basically over for me. Maybe Cowboys & Aliens but that isn’t so urgent. There’s a Muppets movie later in the year that looks promising.

30 07 2011
TBM

I’m looking forward to Cowboys and Aliens. I’m curious to see if they can pull it off.

30 07 2011
Ipodman

It’s interesting because of the cast and crew, but it isn’t such an urgent watch for me… the comic book isn’t that good anyway o.O

30 07 2011
TBM

The cast is the reason why I would see it.

30 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

great review as per usual. planning to see the movie tomorrow. so far, ive been hearing (and reading) all great feedback on the movie. Im psyched!

30 07 2011
Ipodman

I’m glad that people like it… hope you enjoy the movie!

30 07 2011
scarletsp1der

another fantastic review which I agree with! Glad you liked the film. I’ve seen it 4 times now and my opinion remains the same! Marvel is doing a much better job as of late. If only DC could catch up with something other than Batman and Superman.

Good job man.

31 07 2011
Ipodman

4 times?! Wow, you must really like this movie a lot!

31 07 2011
fictionworms

Hey, good review 😀
You convinced me, I’ll go see it at the cinema next weekend 😛

1 08 2011
Ipodman

Thanks 😀
Glad that my review made an impact on someone!

1 08 2011
Heretic

I think Capy might be the best Marvel film since X-Men.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

Really? I think from this year alone, X-Men First Class is better than Cap.

1 08 2011
Heretic

I wouldn’t say I’m alone. I know of numerous people who were incredibly impressed bu Cap, and were only mildly entertained by First Class. Not saying it was a bad film, but Captain America had something that was a lot more fresh and captivating…in my opinion.

1 08 2011
scarletsp1der

I gotta chime in on this one. I liked Xmen First Class, but, yes, to me, Captain America was a better film and even more enjoyable! had a lot of fun watching it. Enjoy the time period of Cap even more than of Professor X.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

Good that you brought up the issue of time period, because Cap makes you feel as if you are living in the 40s, which is one of the best aspects of the movie.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

To clear up any possible misunderstanding, I didn’t say YOU’RE ALONE, I said THIS YEAR ALONE 😐

Cap is certainly very captivating, but the Magneto character in First Class was incredibly emotional imo.

1 08 2011
Heretic

whoops, sorry for misreading that.

But like Scarlet Spider said, Captain America is a period piece. I stated in my review that it’s quite noticeable where this film is shouting out to. It reminds me of 1940’s WW II era of films.

First Class, in my mind, felt a lot more “kiddish” if you will. The maturity of the X-Men franchise has seemed to die out ever since X3 came to theaters. The heart that was put into the first two X films isn’t there anymore for me. If First Class had been the FIRST X film to come out, I don’t think it would have been as successful.

But again, this, in no way means I thought the film was bad. But the X-Men films simply haven’t gotten better.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

I feel X2 is better than X1 in many ways, and First Class is very very close to reaching that level. I think the Magneto character has a very compelling and emotional story, may be on par or even better than Wolverine in X1 and X2.

2 08 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I liked Captain America but it wasn’t as exciting as I thought it would be. I had to see it because I can’t wait to watch The Avengers. But I really expected more action. I am still in shocked that I loved Cowboys & Aliens lol. I just hope The Avengers is worth the wait. Great review as usual 😉

2 08 2011
Ipodman

I can’t wait to see The Avengers too! 🙂

Please leave a comment!

