Watchmen – Movie Review

27 07 2011

I was convinced that Watchmen is the best superhero movie ever.

And then I watched the movie.

@#$%!

Where do I start? One of, if not THE best comic book in history, turned into complete garbage by director Zack Snyder. Yes, Zack Snyder is the problem. His style is so thick and so strong, there is nothing else in his movies that you can concentrate on except his style. Even if you find the bullet-time nonsense to be cool, why not go watch The Matrix or 300  again (and I don’t even like 300 that much).

In this very gritty and realistic superhero movie, all the excessive slo-mo effects are very hard to swallow. The weird thing is that unlike in 300, the fighting here doesn’t even feel real. When someone gets punched and flies backward, the wire-work is so obvious, and there isn’t any weight in anything. The movie gets extremely graphic at times, and it comes off as plain childishness and overindulgence.

Jackie Earle Haley is awesome as the justice seeking Rorschach, Malin Akerman kicks butt in her sexy skin-tight outfit, and the CGI used to create Dr. Manhattan looks amazing! But in the end, does the movie convey any of the thought-provoking messages that was found in the comic book? Not at all. Even though the panels of the comic book are translated to screen with almost 100% accuracy, it’s all empty underneath.

It’s a huge pity that after so many years of trying to get a Watchmen movie off the ground, the final product is utterly meaningless. Doesn’t matter which version you are watching – Theatrical Cut, Director’s Cut, Ultimate Cut, I-am-directing-the-next-Superman-movie cut, Watchmen is a waste of everyone’s time.

That’s worst than Green Hornet (1 Star) and Green Lantern (1 Star), and as terrible as Superman Returns (0.5 Stars). Agree? Disagree? Please leave your comments!

Actions

Information

40 responses

27 07 2011
Peter Germany

I did quite like this film, but i have never read the original version(its on my ‘to buy’ list)

27 07 2011
Ipodman

The comic book is superb, if you like comic books you should definitely check it out.

28 07 2011
Peter Germany

Thats the thing I’m not a big comic book reader so i think i’d struggle but i may still get it and read it because every one says its worth a read

28 07 2011
Ipodman

It’s certainly worth the read, but keep in mind that this is a very unique and off-beat superhero comic book.

27 07 2011
tinkerbelle86

oh no, that sucks!!

27 07 2011
Ipodman

@#$%!

Thanks for visiting my blog tinkerbelle86! :p

27 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

You and I will have to agree to disagree on this one, Ipod. I really really like it. And respect it. I find it faithful to the book (as faithful as can be) stylistic (I enjoyed Snyder’s style here) and potently thematic.

It cracks my top 100.

I love Earle Haley’s Rorschach, and J Dean Morgan’s Comedian.

I also disagree that it doesn’t matter which version you watch. When I saw it in the theatre (the theatrical cut) I was unimpressed. When I got the Ultimate Version, and they integrated the pirate ship comic segments, it was a much longer, much darker movie. You certainly wouldn’t think that that was what was called for, but it brought the experience that much closer to the original comic, AND it strengthened the apacolyptic tone of the flick overall.

Big thumbs up from me.

Although maybe we can team up together someday and bash the %$&# out of “Supeman Returns” LOL!

28 07 2011
Ipodman

STRONG disagreement we have here…

Yes, the movie is very faithful to the book, but if you want to make a complete clone of the book, I don’t see where is the film-making prowess involved. I rather you adapt the book in such a way that it works better in live action and everyone can enjoy, not just those who have read the book. I mean seriously, if you didn’t read Watchmen, you will find it very hard to understand most of the things in the movie.

At least we agree that Superman Returns is @#$%!

28 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Yes. “Returns” is Doo Doo. LOL

I think you have a point now that we agree with though, this movie I think could have been better – way better – if Snyder took some liberties and condensed some things. Because it is DENSE. And DARK. So its not an easy movie by any means… definitely.

27 07 2011
dirtywithclass

This is another movie we’re gonna disagree on. I personally loved it, and i happen to find it extremely underrated.

28 07 2011
Ipodman

I guess this movie is extremely polarising in its audience reactions. You either love it or hate it.

28 07 2011
Heretic

I thought Watchmen was a great film. No, it didn’t convey all the messages that Alan Moore had put into his literary masterpiece, but the look of the film was almost spot on to the graphic novel. In and of itself, it’s expertly done. Much like with V for Vendetta, I felt many of the scenes in the movie were better (visually) than they were in the graphic novel. When I reviewed this film back when it came out, I gave it a 7 out of 10. It’s very artistic and gorgeous. But, to each his own.

28 07 2011
Ipodman

Some scenes in the movie are great, like the Comedian flying out of the window, or the kiss with the nuclear explosion. But in the end, none of the messages which Alan Moore wanted to convey is included in the movie, so when it was over I was like “oh, that’s it?”

28 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

This is why I love reading your reviews. 🙂 You hit the nail right on the noggin once again. I didn’t read the comic book but I had the same problems with the movie. While Haley sucked as Freddy, he was an excellent Rorschach but for the rest of the movie, I felt it was trying too hard to be epic but didn’t quite manage it.

28 07 2011
Ipodman

Glad that at least someone agrees with this review. 🙂

I actually liked Jackie Earle Haley as Freddy… maybe even more than the original!

28 07 2011
scarletsp1der

Opening statement…Cherry!!

ha, I felt the exact same way. The story telling was unique to say the least, but without reading the graphic novel, some watchers are completely left in the dark wondering why they’re watching a blue naked glowing guy run around with superheroes with no powers, very little actual action, and unexplained occurences.

I still bought the film. visually it’s excellent, but the story doesn’t strike me as anything too extra special from what we’ve already seen.

nice review. against the grain. I like it!

29 07 2011
Ipodman

You are right that there is very little actual action… in fact the only action scene I can remember is in the prison.

30 07 2011
dirtywithclass

I barely remember the graphic novel, and i never wondered why i was watching it. I knew that it wasn’t going to have a lot of action, but i was ok with that

30 07 2011
Ipodman

But don’t you think everything outside the action scenes are very dry and boring.

30 07 2011
Heretic

It all depends on how you look at it to be honest. If you enjoy the Zach Snyder way of film making, you’ll love Watchmen. I thought there were some boring scenes, but I thought there were MUCH more good in the film than there was bad. Watchmen is my favorite story right after American Gods and I felt it treated the story very well. As far as comic book films go, I’d say it’s in the top 5.

30 07 2011
Ipodman

I am okay with Zack Snyder’s style if it’s just for one scene. Watchmen is a mighty long movie. Even in Sucker Punch, I gave up around the half-way point.

Curious, what’s the top 5???

30 07 2011
Heretic

Well my top five comic book films is based on my own personal likes and most likely won’t reflect what the majority of comic book lovers feel, but my top five would be…
1. The Dark Knight
2. V for Vendetta
3. Persepholis
4. X-Men
5. Watchmen

30 07 2011
Ipodman

Interesting list… I see you like the dark and complex kind of movie.

1 08 2011
Heretic

I do like the “darker”:films, yes it’s true…typically when it comes to comic book films. It just seems to work better with the comic book genre in my mind.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

I definitely agree with X-Men being one of the best, but I also love Spider-Man, which mixes the dark with the light in a very effective manner.

29 07 2011
Heretic

That, as well as Rorschach racing out of the Molach’s apartment after being set up, I would qualify that as action. The opening scene was also very action-esk. And the alley way ambush that silk specter and Nite Owl endured. As well as many other action scenes.

29 07 2011
Ipodman

Well, the prison scene was the best one, but that’s not saying much because all the action scenes are boring.

30 07 2011
twindaddy

I hardly think someone getting their arms cut of with a circular saw is boring.

I have never read the graphic novel, but I enjoyed this movie. I didn’t necessarily like the how in the first hour of the film each character has a flashback (long flashback) memory with the comedian, I guess as a way to teach the viewer the background of the story and it’s characters before moving the plot along. That was kind of lame, but by the end of the movie, I knew exactly what was going on. Hard to follow at first, but I figured it out.

I think this is a good movie and would ratie it 4 out of 5 stars.

30 07 2011
Ipodman

The scene where the guy’s arms get cut off is so overly sadistic and visually shocking in a bad way. I’m not a fan of torture films (like Saw, Final Destination etc.)

The flashbacks are good because they show you the background of all these characters, but I don’t think the film had any real human emotion at all. It’s all style no substance.

6 08 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Yeah but the sadism and violence are part of that character. I personally wouldnt use that to lump this movie in with the Saw series and Hostel and whatnot.

I’m not a fan of those either (well, the first Saw is awesome)

30 07 2011
twindaddy

Well, that’s your opinion and you’re entitle to it, but I still wouldn’t think anyone would call it boring.

The flashbacks made the movie hard to follow at first, but now that I’ve seen it I understand what’s up. The first time I watched it, though, I don’t think I caught on until the 3rd flashback.

30 07 2011
Ipodman

Well, we are going to have a lot of disagreements here since Watchmen is one of the most polarising movies of all time. In any case, thanks for visiting my blog!

31 07 2011
MeAllOverThePlace

oh, yes, yes, and yes!

I watched it just recently, and I’ve always wondered about the hype. I haven’t read the comic, though at some point I’m sure I will, but from the trailers alone this movie seemed extremely lifeless to me.

And it totally turned out to be. There are really no stakes, well, none that I’d care about. Since it’s pretty clear from the get-go that the end will be all “the world is safe” there really is no suspense. I don’t care for the villain cause I know too little about him (or his supposed super-intelligence). Dr. Manhatten leaves me cold and his entaglements with the ladies seem ultra-contrived.

Plus, I’m too much of a feminist to be okay with the portrayal of both men and women in this picture.
Not a fan.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

You are right, this movie won’t go down well with feminists… but this IS supposed to be a controversial story, it’s just that the director didn’t tell it in a convincing way.

1 08 2011
Heretic

Alan Moore was a very “up in the air” kind of guy…no one is quite clear on his stance on political, social, and gender issues. But one things is certain, Alan Moore’s intentions are always more than they appear.

Within Watchmen, you have to look beyond what’s right in front of you and ask if what you’re seeing is a commentary on how the world is. Is the portrayal of men and women WITHIN Watchmen a sarcastic commentary on how women and men are viewed within their stereotypical gender roles?

I agree with Ipodman that the controversial intention does not come off as well as it does in the graphic novel…but I feel it’s STILL successfully conveyed.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

Hmm… The graphic novel is an excellent superhero story that also contains an endless amount of profound and controversial messages. The movie I felt was too dry to contain anything even close to the graphic novel.

1 08 2011
Heretic

If you compare it to the graphic novel, especially for those who LOVE the GN, of course it will come off that way. But if we look at the film in and of itself, those ideas do come off successfully…not great…but they still work. What we miss within the film are the bigger impact of the smaller stories, such as Rorschach’s personal story told to his psychiatric, Dr. manhatten’s origin story, the substory with the artist, and the inbetween news articles and biographical inserts at the end of each chapter. This is where I feel the “dryness” comes into play.

However, we need to recognize the fact that a film’s quality should not be purely based on how well it “adapts” from written word to big screen. there are multiple factors which would qualify this film to be one of the best comic book films ever made. You and I both would disagree on the effectiveness of the story within the film, that much is obvious. But let’s take into consideration the film’s other components; musical score, acting, editing and scene transition and fluidity, animated sequences and CGI overlay, other special effects, looping, and etc etc etc.

I especially enjoyed how well the film mirrored almost every panel from graphic novel to big screen. Over half of the film is almost a carbon copy (visually) of what you see in the GN, which is an achievement in and of itself.

Now, I do believe this would have been better served as a TV miniseries than a film, but I don’t believe the rating you have given the film truly reflects the excellent work that was put into making this film a reality.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

I will agree that a certain amount of skill is required to produce this movie (music, editing, CGI etc.), and that’s why I gave it a half star and not the flat out zero that I was considering.The cast is great, but they are bogged down by this director whose sensibilities come across as plain childishness and overindulgence. If you want to do your slo-mo nonsense, why must you adapt this graphic novel, why not go and create your own property and then you can do whatever you want with it. Oh wait, he did… It’s called Sucker Punch, which is much better than Watchmen, but still not good enough to be considered a good movie.

1 08 2011
Heretic

But there’s more to it than simply slow motion action. The opening credit scene was a highlight of the movie. The moment where Dr. Manhattan finally realizes the value of human life is more than a scientific phenominon comes off SOOO much better than the graphic novel. Plus the audible emotions portrayed by Rorschach, the comedian, and Ozymandias came off more powerful simply due to the fact that it was performed rather than read.

Now, concerning Sucker Punch, I don’t think it’s better than watchmen. Watchmen actually encompasses some ideas and concepts that reflect what Alan Moore did in the GN. Sucker Punch, while I really enjoyed, was nothing more than how guys think girls think of themselves when they are dreaming. It’s substance was very minimal where as Watchmen’s substance was far more extensive.

1 08 2011
Ipodman

Personally, I find Sucker Punch to be a better film than Watchmen. At least it’s all Zack Snyder’s ideas, so he is free to add dragons and orcs and everything he ever wanted.

Please leave a comment!

