The Proposal / The Hole – Quick Movie Reviews

24 07 2011

Ryan Reynolds works for the ruthless boss played by Sandra Bullock, and one day he is forced to marry her! All sorts of madness ensues, including a fully nude bump of their bodies (which you already saw in the trailer). The story started out as mildly amusing, but later on becomes diluted with lots of useless side-gags that were included just to drag this film out to over a hundred minutes.

Ryan Reynolds is an above average comedy actor, and Sandra Bullock is pretty good herself. The problem is that the script isn’t as funny as it should be. Betty White appears as Ryan Reynolds’ Gammy and adds a little more spark to this sub-par comedy. The film tries to work in some heartwarming elements but doesn’t succeed. The two leads are likable, but The Proposal feels like a watered-down version of a much raunchier and perhaps funnier movie.

The best thing, actually the only good thing about The Hole is the girl. You may remember Haley Bennett from Music and Lyrics, or maybe you think she’s Jennifer Lawrence. Anyway, she teams up with two brothers as they uncover the secret of a mysterious hole that they accidentally found.

The Hole is surprisingly good in its first half, but once the plot becomes more elaborate, that’s when you start to see the strings and realise that this is the B-movie you had already suspected all along. There is living toy horror a la Child’s Play, complete with the usual slasher boom-fest a la A Nightmare on Elm Street. Interestingly, there’s a scene that straight out references A Nightmare on Elm Street, which is quite cool but doesn’t necessarily make the film any better.

So is it scary? Maybe if you are under six. Just because of the girl, I shall be very very very generous and give The Hole a pass.

Hugh Grant and Haley Bennett in Music and Lyrics

Actions

Information

16 responses

25 07 2011
fictionworms

The Proposal wasn’t thaaaaaaat bad, but it could have been way much better. It was FULL of clichés and I hated some parts like the one with the streaper. Luckily, I saw it on the bus, so I didn’t spend money on it. Besides, it’s the kind of movie I like watching on the bus 😀

PS: ON the bus/IN the bus…? I’m horrible with prepositions :/

25 07 2011
Ipodman

I think it’s on the bus…

And yea, the stripper and all the other side-gags are not very funny.

25 07 2011
Bluej

Yeah I know alot of people didnt like The Proposal …but I enjoyed it mainly becasue I really like Ryan Renyolds….but your right it could have been funnier

25 07 2011
Ipodman

I like RR as the funny guy, but he hasn’t done a movie which I think is very good.

25 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

The Hole is pretty entertaining although a bit generic. Its a shame cos it had a a nice premise and it could have been better if it had pushed its imagination more. saw it last year, i think and already, i don’t remember much of it:-)

25 07 2011
Ipodman

A BIT generic? There was nothing new in the movie! :/

25 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

i was being nice 🙂

25 07 2011
Ipodman

Maybe TOO nice 🙂

25 07 2011
TBM

I saw The Proposal the other day on cable. I wan’t all that impressed with it. I agree with you, the writing was pretty bland.

25 07 2011
Ipodman

The whole movie was bland… I’m surprised they didn’t try for something more raunchy.

26 07 2011
renxkyoko

I saw The Proposal a long time ago, but I don’t recall anything at the moment. I just remember that I thought then Ryan reynolds looked too young for Sandra Bullock, I happen to like Sandra Bullock. I “ve seen While You were Sleeping a million times ( I loved her in this movie ), and her other movie, The Lake House was not bad either. Perhaps, The Proposal is simply forgettable.

26 07 2011
Ipodman

Don’t worry, I doubt I will remember The Proposal a week from now…

26 07 2011
scarletsp1der

I actually enjoyed The Proposal for what it was. I was glad for the laughs. It’s a tolerable chick flick rom-com that I actually own.

But, most rom-coms are pretty formulaic altogether. This was no exception!

I like the mini-reviews, btw!

26 07 2011
Ipodman

I laughed a few times… but very few…

I’m trying out the mini-reviews and see how it goes. If you like them, I could do more o.O

27 07 2011
scarletsp1der

I do like them. sometimes it’s nice just to get a snapshot of what someone thought about a movie. I’m inclined to even ask you to consider a few guest posts for my site.

27 07 2011
Ipodman

Doing guest posts for your site will be exciting, yours is so much more popular than mine!

Please leave a comment!

