Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 – Movie Review

15 07 2011

The Harry Potter films have always been very impressive on an artistic and cinematic level. All these films are definitely very well made and very well acted by the entire cast, which includes Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Ralph Fiennes, Michael Gambon, Helena Bonham Carter, and many more. We’ve seen these characters go through all sort of adventures, and it all ends in this much-anticipated bittersweet finale.

Even if you are not a Harry Potter fan, there is something about the atmosphere of these films and it’s many characters that draws you into their world and make you interested in what’s happening. This installment is titled Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, and the “Part 2” might suggest that you need to have some pre-existing knowledge before you jump into this one. I think as long as you know that Harry Potter is the boy with the big round glasses, you are good to go.

Deathly Hallows Part 2 is from director David Yates, who also directed the previous three Harry Potter outings. This one is certainly faster paced than a usual Harry Potter adventure, but it knows how to slow down when it needs to. You get a sense of danger and urgency right from the beginning, and the film manages to maintain that intense tone right up till the end. I was never bored at any point, and the two hours whizzed by surprisingly and pleasantly fast.

What I like about this film, and also all the Harry Potters actually, is that they are family friendly. There is no crude humour, extreme violence, or anything that is inappropriate for kids. These films show you how to effectively create an eerie and scary atmosphere, and it’s definitely not by sawing someone’s arm off or throwing blood everywhere. Deathly Hallows Part 2 is not as scary as Part 1, but it’s still very dark and intense.

There are plenty of exciting action scenes, including a full blown attack on the Hogwarts castle. You get to see giant monsters and huge hoards of wizards shooting at each other, but it never reaches the epic level of something like The Lord of the Rings. Nevertheless, it’s good that this film focuses more on the emotional component of the story and moving the plot forward rather than just trying to make the battle scenes as large and long as possible.

Judging from all the enthusiastic cheering and clapping in the theater, I’m not the only one who enjoyed Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2. For Harry Potter fans, this is a satisfying conclusion to a powerful and unforgettable film franchise.

Actions

Information

14 responses

15 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Cool. Especially glad to hear your theatre was clapping. That’s always a good sign. I didn’t get to see it yet, but now I’m looking forward to it just a little more.

Nice review!

15 07 2011
Ipodman

Thanks for your support!

There was clapping and cheering every time something clap-worthy happens, like when any of the villains dies, and of course at the very end when the final shot fades out to black.

19 07 2011
Kim

Oh really? No one clapped in vienna ^^

19 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

My audience here in CT, US like started to and then not enough people did… so it died before it got started.

They definitely thought about it though!

20 07 2011
Ipodman

Someone must have put something in the drinks on my night… I didn’t notice any crying tho…

15 07 2011
TBM

Yay! I’ve been looking forward to this film since the last one came out. From the sounds of your review, it will be fun!

15 07 2011
Ipodman

Yes it’s good, especially if you are a Harry Potter fan!

15 07 2011
TBM

I have to admit that I am a fan. I’ve read all the books and I own all of them. I haven’t put them on my spreadsheet yet but I will soon!

16 07 2011
scarletsp1der

glad that you liked it so much. I will be seeing it soon. The only HP movie I’ve seen so far, actually, was Deathly Hallows part 1, so I feel like I need to conclude the story!

Nice review!

16 07 2011
Ipodman

Thanks!

If you’ve only seen Deathly Hallows Part 1, then I think you are missing out on some major back-story :/

17 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

great review. i do agree that the battle scene does not quite reach the epic level of Lord of the Rings. The LOTR war was genius. 🙂

17 07 2011
Ipodman

Yea, no other movie is as epic as LOTR!

19 07 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I loved your review. Can you believe I haven’t seen my beloved HP yet. Real life caught up with me. I can’t wait to see it this weekend.. I won’t do a review because it’s been reviewed enough but I absolutely love yours

19 07 2011
Ipodman

Thanks for your kind words!

Please leave a comment!

