10 Things I have to say about Harry Potter before I go watch Deathly Hallows Part 2

14 07 2011

1) Check out this crazy gigantic Harry Potter banner at AMK Hub! I was there watching Transformers: Dark of the Moon for the third time. (And contrary to popular belief, I DO NOT hate Harry Potter!)

2) You know how Star Trek has the odd number curse, where the even number films are better than the odd number films? HP has the even number curse.

3) The only HP book I have ever read is “Chamber of Secrets”, and I don’t remember liking it. (Yes, I had a bitter childhood.)

4) I don’t understand the HP story. All I know is that it’s something like Star Wars.

5) Speaking of, Star Wars only has three good films (some will argue only two). How HP manages to not be terrible throughout the entire saga is amazing.

6) I have all the HPs on DVD/Blu-ray.

7) “Philosopher’s Stone” is my favourite HP film.

8 ) I like the ending of “Prizoner of Azkaban” since there’s time travel. I love time travel.

9) Apparently a teaser trailer for The Dark Knight Rises will be shown with the final HP film.

10) If you want to know what I think of Years 1 – 6, go here. For my “Deathly Hallows Part 1” review, go here.

See you in theaters for “Deathly Hallows Part 2”!

Actions

Information

11 responses

14 07 2011
TBM

I have a question about the star wars comments. Which two do people consider the best?

15 07 2011
Ipodman

“Star Wars” and “The Empire Strikes Back”.

15 07 2011
TBM

Those are the ones I would say as well. I prefer Empire out of those two. Which one do you prefer?

15 07 2011
Ipodman

I love them both, but if I had to choose only one, then Empire all the way! But I admit I have only watched the Special Editions and not the Han Shot First editions…

15 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

Yessssss. EMPIRRRRE!! 😀

At least you recognize that the “Special Editions” are inferior.

This is why I hate George Lucas now (passionately). He’s actively making it difficult for people to see the originals in their original, theatrical format. *sigh*

They were SUCH huge movies. God, I loved them SO much. Why he has to be such a dill weed about things is beyond me.

15 07 2011
Ipodman

Apparently the Special Edition is his “vision” for Star Wars… but yea, he should really release those original versions properly for everyone to see. Right now the best way to watch those are in laserdisc quality (which looks horrible on a widescreen TV).

15 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

As to Potter, I thought you said in your review all you had to know was Harry was the one with the big round glasses. 😀 What’s there not to understand?

😀

I kid.

I also think its remarkable that this series has maintained such a high level of quality over the years. The James Bond series sure couldn’t. But my issue is, I dont think any one of the films was ever a GREAT film. In fact, as big a movie fan as I am, I would have trouble naming all eight, and even if I could, I’d have trouble telling you what happened in each.

I dont think thats a good sign.

15 07 2011
Ipodman

I think the first Harry Potter film is worthy enough to be called GREAT. The rest is quite dull, but it got much better in Deathly Hallows Part 1 and 2. And you are right, after some time all the Harry Potters just blend in with each other and you can’t remember what happens in each one. But hey, if you are a die-hard Harry Potter fan, you can probably tell me what happens in chapter 6 of book 5.

17 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

My favorite Potter movie is still the fourth one. Not because of Robert Pattinson, I would like to clarify, but it was overall a great turning point in the story and achieved the perfect balance between darkness and adventure, pleasing kids and adults alike. 🙂

17 07 2011
Ipodman

Is that the one with the dancing? o.O

18 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

yup, the very one 🙂

Please leave a comment!

