Due Date / Buried – Quick Movie Reviews

11 07 2011

Robert Downey Jr. was funny in Iron Man and Sherlock Holmes, but here he is downright hilarious. Every expression and action of his made me want to laugh. Zach Galifianakis plays his mismatched road trip buddy, and he is also much funnier here than elsewhere. Jamie Foxx shows up in a small role, and guess what, even he is funny.

I like how the backstories of RDJ and ZG are slowly revealed, and how the two of them learn to love each other despite their differences. The film attempts to be emotional at points but it didn’t really work. However, there are many absolutely ridiculous situations which had me laughing my face off. Due Date is leaps and bounds better than The Hangover, and possibly one of the funniest things I’ve seen in a long time.

Ryan Reynolds is buried in a coffin. For ninety minutes. And you are there with him.

How is that even interesting, I don’t know. As a thriller, this film is certainly very intense. It touches on some topics such as communication and protocols which I found to be very intriguing. However, the main problem lies with the character. You know that this man is working in Iraq as a truck driver and he has a family, but that’s about it. Whether he gets out of this situation safely or not, you don’t really care. The film seems to be building up to some kind of mind blowing finale, but it never came. Unless you have lots of spare time and you like experimental films, don’t get buried with Ryan Reynolds.

Actions

Information

17 responses

11 07 2011
dirtywithclass

I’m going to be honest and say i disagree with both of your reviews. While i liked Due Date better than most, i don’t think its better than The Hangover, and i personally loved Buried.

I hope this doesn’t come off too trollish, because i am not trying to be. Just giving you my honest opinion

11 07 2011
Ipodman

Nah, you don’t come off as trollish…

The Hangover to me was just a lot of screaming and nudity and I didn’t find any of it funny. Due Date had lots of genuinely funny situations which had me laughing even after the joke was over. Furthermore, RDJ is a better actor than anyone in The Hangover.

As for Buried… if it was a half an hour short film, then maybe I would have liked it more. But at ninety minutes, it failed to hold my interest.

11 07 2011
filmsteve

Hey, I finally found someone who does the short reviews like I do. I like the style. I agree with you on Buried and how it could have been a short film and just as interesting. I didn’t agree so much on Due Date though as buddy travel movies have been done better ie Midnight Run or Planes, Trains & Automobiles. Still, great blog.

11 07 2011
Ipodman

Yea, Due Date feels a lot like Planes, Trains & Automobiles… but still, RDJ is an excellent actor! I didn’t realise Midnight Run, good that you pointed that out.

11 07 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I refused to see Buried when it come out in theaters here. It just didn’t look like a good movie to me at all. I absolutely loved Due Date though. It was hilarious and to me they really allowed Zach G. to really be himself.. which is a funny and weird personality that everyone has come to embrace. Great reviews.

12 07 2011
Ipodman

Thanks for your support.

I don’t know what ZG is like in real life, but from the little I’ve heard, he seems kinda rude. Maybe that’s just part of his humour, I don’t know.

12 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

With all the Green Lantern hate out there right now, you’d think the public would WANT to see Ryan Raynolds buried alive. LOL.

Good to see good things about Due Date. Missed it so far, now I just need it to hit my tv

12 07 2011
Ipodman

For Green Lantern, I think he deserves a much worse punishment (just kiddin). But seriously, I do like Ryan Reynolds as a person. As an actor… meh.

12 07 2011
The Hook

I heard Buried was actualy awesome! Ryan Reynolds can do no wrong these days, right?

13 07 2011
Ipodman

He’s more of a funny man than an action star.

12 07 2011
scarletsp1der

I like the mini-reviews!

Due Date: funny, I actually saw it as rather dull and boring. Wishing the RDJ hadn’t of chosen that role. I felt it would’ve been just the same with maybe Ryan Reynolds or someone else. Not sure why he chose the role. It was filmed in my city. As a matter of fact. the flip off of the bridge is 5 mins from my house and the whole highway chase scene at night= same hwy from the bridge flip.Fun watching them film.

Buried: haha. I’m not a big fan of 1-2 actor movies. This one was no different. although I had to give props to Reynolds for keeping attention considering.

Nice segment sir!

13 07 2011
Ipodman

I think RDJ has that image of the character in the story… wouldn’t be the same with Ryan Reynolds (or Bradley Cooper / Ed Helms, if you want some more Hangover comparisons).

Buried lost my attention around the halfway mark… I just didn’t care about what was happening anymore (because nothing was happening).

13 07 2011
fictionworms

I agree with you totally on both of your reviews. I laughed A LOT with Due Date (plus, I watched it at the cinema and was encouraged to laugh even louder by the rest of the audience :P). And yes, you’re right, those “emotional scenes” didn’t work that well, but Robert Downey Jr’s faces, when he was sick of the other guy, were the best! Oh and BTW, I also find it way much better than The Hangover 🙂

As regards Buried… there’s nothing more terrifying for me than being buried alive, so watching that desperating torture and finding out the movie totally sucked was the worst. The end, my god, was SO HORRIBLE! I hated it, hated it, hated it.

Hated it.

13 07 2011
Ipodman

Glad to find someone else who likes Due Date more than The Hangover 🙂

And yes, the ending of Buried is a horrible ending.

18 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

havent watched Due Date but its in my TBW file. more interested in seeing it now that i’ve read your review.

I thought that Buried was brilliant though. The premise of making a full length movie featuring a guy in a box and no one else, and the sense of urgency before he runs out of oxygen is unique and very creative. 🙂

18 07 2011
Ipodman

Buried was brilliant for maybe the first half hour or so. Then the plot gets stretched too thin and it lost me.The premise is unique, but being unique doesn’t mean your movie is good.

19 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

🙂 i liked the twist in the end

Please leave a comment!

