Watching Red Riding Hood on Blu-ray

8 07 2011

“From the director of Twilight

If you are not a die-hard completist of any of the actors involved, there’s really no good reason for you to even consider watching Red Riding Hood, much less buy it on Blu-ray. But who cares, I saw it in theaters and actually liked it (review here), and have now seen it a second time in the comfort of my own home.

As with all these “who did it” detective stories, the mystery is heavily dampened on the second viewing. However, as you see the killer going around and doing his stuff, you wonder why you didn’t catch the hints the first time.

There is this Picture-in-Picture (PiP) feature which makes an extra window pop up on the screen while you are watching the film. I tried it out for a while and it’s totally ridiculous because you can’t be watching two things at the same time. Furthermore, the “PiP commentary” should have been a totally separate special feature in the first place.

Picture and sound quality of the film itself is above average, but nothing mind blowing. Overall this is not a bad Blu-ray. If you have the “Alternate Cut”, please tell me how different it is from the theatrical cut and whether you think it’s better.

Click images to enlarge!

Actions

Information

9 responses

8 07 2011
dirtywithclass

Your Red Riding review is the only positive one i’ve seen

I might stream this, but i can’t say i would want to get it n Blu-ray.

8 07 2011
Ipodman

Yea, I must be one of the five people on Earth that liked this movie.

Streaming is a good idea if you are unsure.

8 07 2011
TBM

When I first saw this preview I thought it had potential, but then the reviews came. I still haven’t seen it. Maybe I’ll put it on my list, near the bottom.

8 07 2011
Ipodman

Yea, the reviews make it out to be a horrible movie (11% on Rotten Tomatoes). I don’t think it’s THAT bad…

8 07 2011
TBM

It’s hard to believe the reviews all of the time. There are some movies that so many people hated and I actually liked it. I’m hoping this might be one of them. It has to be fun and entertaining on some level. And I just like watching movies. They are a great way to relax and escape from reality. Not all of them can be best picture.

8 07 2011
Ipodman

Nicely said. If you love watching movies, especially if you love writing movie reviews, then you should watch as many movies as you can afford to increase your “scope”.

8 07 2011
TBM

I agree! No reason to be close-minded. I might miss a gem.

9 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

I can only imagine watching this to drool over Amanda Seyfried. And I can’t imagine its to the level of her prior work in that regard, LOL.

9 07 2011
Ipodman

You are correct.

Please leave a comment!

