Transformers Dark of the Moon – Movie Review

30 06 2011

I’ll start off by saying that I absolutely LOVE Transformers. I not only love the live action films, I also love the G1 cartoon, Beast Wars, Beast Machines, and even the recent Transformers Prime. I love buying the toys and transforming them over and over again, and then displaying them proudly in my display cabinet. And with that cred, I shall now declare that Transformers: Dark of the Moon is one of the best movies I’ve seen in my life.

Director Michael Bay returns for his third Transformers flick, and brings along all the explosive action that he is famous for. Dark of the Moon has plenty of action scenes with cars, guns, and everything you are familiar with if you have already seen the previous two Transformers. The Autobots (good Transformers) and the Decepticons (bad Transformers) battle it out in some of the most breathtaking action sequences ever to grace cinema, and some Transformers will die in brutal situations.

Shia Lebouf reprises his role as Sam, and now he is all grown up and looking for his first job. He meets up with the John Malkovich character, who is mostly there for comedic effect. Speaking of comedic effect, Ken Jeong (whom you may recognise from The Hangover and Community) plays one of Sam’s colleagues. I still don’t find Ken Jeong to be funny, but judging from the laughter all around me, there are people that do.

Tough guys Josh Duhamel and Tyrese Gibson return to deliver lots of hard-hitting military action, and they definitely have more impact on this story than in Revenge of the Fallen. Speaking of Revenge of the Fallen, Sam’s roommate is not in this movie, and all the toilet humour that came with him have disappeared as well. Patrick Dempsey shows up in a pivotal role, and he is probably the best actor of the entire cast. Sam’s parents are in a couple of scenes, and they look like they want their own spin-off.

If you are wondering why Megan Fox isn’t in the movie trailer, that’s because she isn’t in the movie at all. She is replaced by Victoria’s Secret model Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, and this new babe is actually pretty good. She has a cute British accent, and her name being Carly is a good nod to the G1 cartoon. Just don’t put me on the spot by asking me to choose between Megan Fox and RHW, I don’t want to become Bella Swan.

Humans aside, we are here to see the robots, or the (sing it) robots – in – disguise! Peter Cullen and Hugo Weaving are once again the voices of Optimus Prime and Megatron respectively, and both their voices are always awesome to listen to. Megatron appears less in this installment and doesn’t really do anything that affects the plot, which left me a little puzzled but didn’t downgrade my overall enjoyment of the film.

Bumblebee still talks using lines from his radio, and audiences who missed the first Transformers will be left out as to why Bumblebee is such a big deal. If you went to the recent Botcon, then you may have already seen the scene where Bumblebee transforms while Sam is still in the car. These new stunts that the Transformers are pulling off certainly took me by surprise, and needless to say, all the CGI you see in the Transformers films are the best in the business.

Frank Welker, a name sacred to long-time Transformers fans, voices the menacing Shockwave. He is the Decepticon with a single red eye, and controls a gigantic tentacle machine which you can catch a glimpse of in the movie trailer. I don’t think it’s a spoiler when I say the humans and the Autobots will be teaming up to battle the Decepticons, and I like that the humans have come up with new innovative ways to kill these evil robots. I was also glad that the Decepticons finally have some sort of organisation among them rather than just walking around like zombies.

There are many new Transformers in Dark of the Moon, including a few Autobots with funny accents. The new Transformer of importance is Sentinel Prime, the leader of the Autobots before Optimus took command. He is voiced by Leonard Nimoy, who previously voiced Galvatron in the 1986 Transformers animated feature, but most people know him simply as Spock from Star Trek. There are a few references to Star Trek in this film, and it’s the little things like these that make the fanboys happy.

If anything was missing from this film, it would be a fight between Optimus and Megatron. The confrontations between the two leaders of the two Transformers factions have always been the most exciting moments in any incarnation of the Transformers. In Dark of the Moon, they hardly had any interaction at all! Also, why weren’t there any combiners in this film. It would have been cool to see some of the robots join together to form a bigger robot like we saw in Revenge of the Fallen. I also didn’t see any female Transformers but whatever.

In the end, I got what I wanted and perhaps even more. When the credits rolled and “Iridescent” by Linkin Park started to play, the feeling I had was the same feeling as when I first saw Transformers back in 2007. Forget Harry Potter, Transformers is the film franchise for this generation of kids, and I’m proud to be one of those kids.

Actions

Information

25 responses

30 06 2011
Transformers Dark of the Moon – Movie Review « I Am Ipodman | Action Films / Action Films News

[…] more from the original source: Transformers Dark of the Moon – Movie Review « I Am Ipodman Tags: beast, beast-wars, buying-the-toys, even-the-recent, live, love-buying, love-the-live, […]

30 06 2011
mrexploder

Nice review. Unlike many critics, you nailed it.

1 07 2011
Ipodman

Thanks for the support 🙂

30 06 2011
secretriddle

While I have little doubt this isn’t the best of the trilogy…better than Potter?

No way man! haha.

*declares war*

30 06 2011
secretriddle

While I don’t doubt this is the best of the trilogy…better than Potter?

No way man! haha.

*declares war*

30 06 2011
secretriddle

Aw man. Sorry for the double comment. Looks like you win this battle.

1 07 2011
Ipodman

Lol, don’t give up so easily!

But I truly find the Transformers franchise better than Harry Potter, I was never a Harry Potter fan anyway…

1 07 2011
The Hook

My daughter and I loved this one!
Well, I LOVED it, and she thought it was cool but not the greatest ever. Still, this was her first exposure to the Transformers, so we’ll cut her some slack, right?

1 07 2011
Ipodman

“Cool” is good enough for me! Maybe show her the 2007 Transformers movie?

1 07 2011
CMrok93

This was just some straight-up robots kicking robots ass! And that’s what I mainly loved about this film!

2 07 2011
Ipodman

Yes, and this installment has the best final fight of the three movies.

2 07 2011
fogsmoviereviews

“And with that cred, I shall now declare that Transformers: Dark of the Moon is one of the best movies I’ve seen in my life”

LOL. I’m going to go ahead and say that you’re a little biased to this movie in the same way I was to Green Lantern (Which I know you saw my review on) 🙂 The truth for both movies is probably much closer to the middle.

That shot where Bumblebee transforms with Sam in the car WAS impressive, youre definitely right. CGI has come so far since the “Die Another Day” days, hasn’t it? 🙂

3 07 2011
Ipodman

A good review is an honest review. If you truly believe that Green Lantern is a good movie, then your review is a good review 🙂

And yes, the CGI in Transformers is vastly superior to the CGI in other movies.

3 07 2011
cineramaetcetera

Great review! I just saw the movie on IMAX last night and was completely blown away. I have no problems choosing between Megan and Rosie. I’m Team Rosie all the way. 🙂

3 07 2011
Ipodman

I didn’t watch it in IMAX, but I wish I did!

And I definitely think Megan can put up a fight with Rosie 😀

4 07 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

Hey Hey Hey, don’t go dissing my Harry Potter now lol. I didn’t like that Ipodman lol. But you are right, this movie was exceptional. I also heard they may be trying to get together a fourth movie. Of course Shia states they’ve done all they can do with this franchise, but without him in it would still be good in my opinion. Great review as always :).

4 07 2011
Ipodman

Thanks for the support Kay! I feel bad as I always seem to offend you with every review I write lol. Harry Potter and Transformers are both good, but I guess Transformers is a bigger part of my life 🙂

5 07 2011
Kim

I didn’t like it all :S

5 07 2011
Ipodman

Oh dear :S

Why didn’t you like it?

12 07 2011
Kenneth Holliday

I enjoyed your review and agreed with you on pretty much everything. I definitely enjoyed the inclusion of certain new Transformers as they were some of my favorites growing up.

12 07 2011
Ipodman

I enjoyed the appearance of Laserbeak and how he (it?) could transform into many things like a scanner or even a TV!

12 07 2011
Kenneth Holliday

Yep. Soundwave was my favorite back in G1.

12 07 2011
Ipodman

Soundwave was cool in G1, glad that they used the G1 voice actor (Frank Welker) for the movies…

12 07 2011
Kenneth Holliday

Yeah definitely. He was always an important character and it was cool to see him in a bigger role than attached to a satellite floating around in space.

I didn’t mind the car form too much because, let’s face it, a micro cassette deck wouldn’t have been very modern. There were jokes online about him being an iPod (or MP3 player in general) but I don’t think it would have turned out well.

They did a very good job on modernizing both him and Laserbeak. The latter looking extremely sinister in my opinion.

12 07 2011
Ipodman

The satellite was a good idea, the Mercedes is cool enough I guess. And yea, Laserbeak is very evil!

I also like how they made Shockwave into some kind of bounty hunter, heh.

Please leave a comment!

