Pirates of the Caribbean On Stranger Tides – Movie Review

19 05 2011

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides is the fourth installment in Disney’s famous film series based on a theme park ride. Fourth installment? I don’t even know what the first three were about! The plot of these things have always been very confusing to me, and none of the characters were all that interesting, so I was never into any of these films. I went into On Stranger Tides with a positive attitude, and to my surprise, I actually enjoyed it.

Johnny Depp reprises his role as Captain Jack Sparrow, and I still don’t get what’s so good about this character. To me, he’s just a guy who walks around without any real objective and somehow manages to survive (*cough*harrypotter*cough*). Keith Richards makes a cameo as Jack’s father, which is cute and passes by quickly.

Jack’s romantic relationship with Penelope Cruz’s character, Angelica, was interesting to see but ultimately went nowhere. I have to say that Cruz’s acting was pretty good, although I kind of miss Keira Knightley and Orlando Bloom. Speaking of Orlando Bloom, there’s a new bloke here played by Sam Claflin, and his character injected just enough emotion into this otherwise superficial action flick.

The best acting performance here is Ian Mcshane as Captain Blackbeard. As contrived as the plot of On Stranger Tides is, something about Blackbeard feels right. Everyone is trying to find the Fountain of Youth, and Blackbeard being the best pirate of all time, wants a slice of the pie. In fact, this merciless pirate wants the whole pie, and he’ll stop at nothing to taste the drink of everlasting life.

The plot really kicks in when Angelica and Jack Sparrow comes on board his ship and they set sail in search for this fountain. I liked that the main plot is relatively straightforward, and with most Disney films, you don’t really have to listen to the dialogue to understand what is going on. In fact, I didn’t bother to understand all the plot complications anyway. Thankfully, this film has many expensive set pieces that gives you more to look at.

The score of On Stranger Tides is by Hans Zimmer, who also scored The Dark Knight and Inception. The music of Pirates of the Caribbean is probably one of the most recognisable movie tunes among movie-going youngsters nowadays, and I do like it. It gives Pirates of the Caribbean a very adventurous spirit and also provides something to listen to if you ever get bored during the action scenes.

Which I did, particularly at one point early in the film when Jack Sparrow is swinging from ropes. You can’t see Jack’s face, so it’s obviously a stuntman and not the real Johnny Depp. Nevertheless, all the action sequences are fun to watch. My favourite action scene, and perhaps the best scene of the film, is when the crew gets attacked by mermaids. These fish-women are more vicious than the Raptors in The Lost World: Jurassic Park.

This is a Disney film, so of course it’s family friendly. Nothing violent or gory ever happens, except for a few cuts here and there. I can only remember one “damn” in the entire film, and it was used in a humorous situation. In the end, if you are one of those people who are dying for Part IV, you will be satisfied. Johnny Depp does his quirky weirdo thing, people with swords and guns fight one another, Disney gets piles of money, another sequel is greenlit, and everyone goes home happy.

Actions

Information

15 responses

19 05 2011
The stars on Break Stars » Blog Archive » Emma Watson

[…] Pirates of the Caribbean On Stranger Tides – Movie Review « I Am … […]

19 05 2011
scarletsp1der

I am glad for the shout out to Ian McShane. He is, by far, one of my absolute favs to watch! So I look forward to seeing this tonite! I skimmed your review, but will return to read it fully after i have watched it and then written mine! Glad to see the score is high enough to merit a good time!

21 05 2011
Ipodman

Ian Mcshane is awesome! Looking forward to your review!

25 05 2011
scarletsp1der

Having taken time to read more of your review I found myself laughing at the little jabs you took at the film and others such as Harry Potter! As you said over at my page, This film seems to be “critic-proof” as so many critics speak ill about it, yet it still rakes in the bucks!

Beware those Velociraptor Vixens of the Sea! Nice review!!

25 05 2011
Ipodman

Thanks!

I want a Mermaids of the Caribbean movie 😀

20 05 2011
Kyle

I have heard very mixed reviews on this installment of the Pirates series. They are fun movies to watch, but at points seem to drag. So far your review has been the best I’ve seen. I may watch this one when its out on DVD.

21 05 2011
Ipodman

Yea the Pirates movies are crazy long, but this one is only a little bit over 2 hours.

20 05 2011
secretriddle

Oh man, I really hope I agree with this! I’ve heard mixed things overall (just like the sequels). Generally audiences tend to like these movies more than critics though so who knows.

21 05 2011
Ipodman

Judging from the box office earnings of the first 3 Pirates movies, A LOT of people like these movies.

20 05 2011
The Hook

I was hoping you’de review this one. I’m still on the fence about spending the cash on it, but you’ve helped me make up my mind. Thanks, dude1

21 05 2011
Ipodman

No problem. I figured watching it in theaters is cheaper than buying it on DVD / Blu-ray. This is not the kind of movie I’m interested in keeping anyway…

24 05 2011
secretriddle

I didn’t enjoy it as much as you. About 1 star less, but I’m a big fan of the first 2. It sort of felt more like an Indiana Jones to me than Pirates. Bah, I wash my hands of Pirates for now. Bring on X-Men! Have you seen the sparkling reviews?!

25 05 2011
Ipodman

You are right, this movie feels a lot like Indiana Jones… especially the action-comedy formula.

And yes, I’ve read some of the early reviews for X-Men First Class, it’s looking good so far 😀

25 05 2011
Jaan

I always liked Disney movies but when it’s into pirates I’m not that much sure. I remember I watched the first three movies but can’t remember what they were about! I’m planning to watch this soon…lets see if I can give it 3 out of 4 stars too 🙂

25 05 2011
Ipodman

Don’t worry, I have no idea what the first 3 movies were about either.

Please leave a comment!

