Twilight – Movie Review

13 05 2011

Twilight is directed by Catherine Hardwicke and stars Kristen Stewart as Bella Swan, a teenage girl who moves to an unfamiliar town with her dad. At her new school, she meets a handsome, pale-faced boy named Edward Cullen, played by Robert Pattinson. Later on, Bella discovers that the Cullen family is actually a bunch of vampires who sparkle in sunlight. So why aren’t they sparkling all the time?

This is a romantic film that isn’t romantic at all. There are many lengthy boy-girl scenes where Bella and Edward are alone in the woods or at home, but I don’t know why they are in love in the first place. Sure, Edward saved Bella’s life, but he is a cold-blooded, emotionless vampire, so why would he want to save anybody? Maybe I can try to answer my own question by saying “love is blind”, or “it was love at first sight”, or “Bella is special”, but it’s still very difficult to sit through huge chunks of romantic scenes when the on-screen romance is not convincing enough.

The biggest problem here is the performances from the two main leads. I understand that Bella and Edward are supposed to be anti-social kids who don’t like to talk much, so in that way their emotionless acting fits the roles. However, you want to see some spark between the two when they are together, and not the sparks that emit from Edward’s body. I try to comfort myself again and say that Edward is afraid of hurting Bella because of vampire-related complications that are explained in the film. If that is the case, Bella should run for her life.

Twilight is very well shot but there were a few scenes with bad CGI. The wire work was also very obvious when vampires are running and jumping around. There was only one action scene in the entire film that’s worth mentioning, and it was very messy and poorly executed. I think I would have enjoyed this film a lot more if all the horror and action aspects of the plot were removed. However, I did like the way certain songs were incorporated into the film, especially during the earlier half. The score by Carter Burwell is decent, and adds to the cold atmosphere of the film.

So Twilight is not a good movie, but it isn’t bad either. There was some stuff with Taylor Lautner’s character that seems to be hinting towards a sequel (or possibly ten more sequels), but do I want to watch more Twilight movies? Not really. If you have read the novel and are curious to see what the movie adaptation looks like, go right ahead. If you want to watch a good movie, you’ve come to the wrong place.

Actions

Information

16 responses

13 05 2011
scarletsp1der

Twilight definitely trudges along. From what I hear, it is a classic example of books that are always better than the movie. I sat through the first and second ones in order to understand and review the 3rd one…..true torture! haha.

2/4…a fair score! Nice review!

13 05 2011
Ipodman

Thanks! I plan on watching the second and third Twilight very soon, I hope the saga gets better 😐

13 05 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

I didn’t even watch the last Twilight movie because I heard it was horrible. The whole series is okay but not something I would waste money on. I’d rather go back and watch 80’s movies like ‘Pretty in Pink” 🙂

14 05 2011
Ipodman

Yea, you can’t find any good romantic movies nowadays. “Casablanca” would be my choice for the best romantic movie of all time.

14 05 2011
secretriddle

I like that you don’t just tear it a new asshole cause everyone else does. You break it down well, and you arrive at a conclusion I’d argue is completely fair.

I think I’d give all the films released so far a 2/4 or so. Been a while since we had an amazing romance movie…500 Days of Summer is the last time one floored me.

15 05 2011
Ipodman

Hmm… I haven’t seen 500 Days of Summer yet, but I must check that out soon since the director is gonna do Spider-Man next o.O

15 05 2011
Kim

In my opinion it’s one of the worst movies ever. I read the book, so I had to watch the first two parts. I’m too scared to watch more, lol.

16 05 2011
Ipodman

Lol. Each Twilight movie is from a different director, and that’s the only reason why I’m even planning to continue the saga…

17 05 2011
Kim

I’m not as strong as you are 😀

18 05 2011
Ipodman

You have to be more than strong to survive these things… but I also wanna find out if she chooses Edward or Jacob 😐

16 05 2011
wootness

I heard all the movies were bad so good luck watching the rest. I’ve only seen the first movie and surprisingly it follows straight from the book. Every detail and every line is pretty accurate but the movie failed to bring chemistry, like you said, between the main leads and it was quite shallow in it’s storytelling. Hope you at least enjoy the others :).

16 05 2011
Ipodman

Yea, there was no chemistry between Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson, although there was a little something between Kristen Stewart and Taylor Lautner, who only appeared for a minute or so…

20 05 2011
The Hook

The first Twilight really did suck compared to future installments. Great review!

23 11 2011
Ipodman

Thanks, Hook!

22 11 2011
Breaking down Breaking Dawn 1 | cineramaetcetera

[…] For reviews of Twilight, New Moon and Eclipse, check out http://www.iamipodman.wordpress.com. […]

17 12 2013
Hermosa Beach Marketing CEO Eddie Sparks

Inc Magazine praises the leadership of CEO Eddie Sparks
of Hermosa Beach Marketing by adding the company to the Inc 5000 list
of 2014. Inc Magazine named CEO Eddie Sparks one of the up and coming most successful leaders of 2014 for
online marketing in the US. Inc later issued a statement that they may remove Sparks from the February
2014 issue altogether due to the current status of the company is ‘sole propreitership’ making it impossible to have a CEO.

The argument and controversy thickens as Eddie Sparks is
the CEO of 2 other companies making Sparks a CEO regardless of Hermosa Beach Marketing’s success.
” I refuse to incorporate the business in its current state. California Incorporation causes undue tax hardships and responsibilities that the company has no need for currently. If you are going to judge my leadership abilities, I have brought company assets over 5 million, paid off all investment monies, and am expanding to include the general public as a form of income. We have no debt whatsoever which is unheard of in the Los Angeles area. The business is extremely tight knit and the staff works together quite well. ” says Sparks.

PR Director Yasmine Do of Inc. states, “Sparks was nominated via the success of the business as a whole. He truly is a talented individual but he will not be appearing in our February issue”.
No other comments followed.

Please leave a comment!

