I Am Number Four – Movie Review

9 05 2011

I Am Number Four is directed by D.J. Caruso (Eagle Eye, Disturbia) and stars Alex Pettyfer (Stormbreaker) as a super-powered alien called John Smith. Actually, that’s not his real name. I don’t know what his real name is, but let’s just call him Number Four.

Number Four is from another planet but lives on Earth now. Why he is here and what exactly his planet or race is about was never fully explained in the film, so I didn’t care at all for this overly serious and uninteresting story. Apparently, there’s this group of villains that are hunting good-looking teens around the world. They have already killed three of them and guess what, you are next. Because you know, you are Number Four.

Most people will probably compare this film to Harry Potter, but it reminded me more of Star Wars. Sadly, it’s nowhere as good as either of those two. There’s the “Obi-Wan” character who guides and protects Number Four as they both try to blend in with the normal humans. It’s funny how audiences watching this type hero-centric movies want to become the hero, but the heroes in these movies just want to be ordinary people.

Alex Pettyfer is not an amazing actor, in fact he can be quite wooden at times. However, his beautiful eyes and well toned body will give you something to admire. Number Four volunteers to go to school, and that’s where he meets Sarah, played by Dianna Agron of Glee fame. I didn’t believe that the boy and girl are really in love, and their relationship felt very contrived like everything else in this film. But at least you can say that the romantic stuff grounded the story and made it more humanistic.

Everyone here is good-looking. Even the guy that is supposed to be the nerd of the school is okay. It’s the villains that look horrible, and in a bad way. I can tell that they were trying to create a creepy Voldemort look, but the end result was very cartoonish and even laughable. Going back to the main plot, these Voldemort wannabes are here to kill people in numerical order, right? So later on when Teresa Palmer shows up as Number Six, you know what, she’s invincible because the bad guys are still at Number Four!

The visual and sound effects of I Am Number Four are nothing special, although they add some flair to an otherwise dull adventure. There is a huge battle scene near the end of the film with dazzling special effects, which I really appreciated because there were hardly any action scenes before that. The monsters and laser guns left me with a better impression of I Am Number Four, but I won’t recommend sitting through ninety minutes of nothing just for that climatic battle.

Actions

Information

10 responses

9 05 2011
Kim

I actually liked the movie – I guess the dog was too cute 😀

10 05 2011
Ipodman

The dog hardly appeared tho…

12 05 2011
Kim

But it was worth watching because of the dog 🙂

12 05 2011
Ipodman

I don’t even remember what happened to the dog in the end… but the hulk dog was a surprise for me (did I just say hulk dog?)

9 05 2011
Kay aka Babygirl

You and me both didn’t like this movie. In my movie review, I believe I said it was like watching paint dry lol. Loved reading your review. Very nice post.

10 05 2011
Ipodman

Thanks, your reviews are good too! 😀

12 05 2011
Jaan

I have this movie but still dint watch it..seems like not worth to watch 🙂

12 05 2011
Ipodman

It’s not worth the watch if you ask me…

14 05 2011
Jaan

I watched this movie today. not bad after all 🙂

12 05 2011
The Hook

I have yet to see this one, but I will now!

Please leave a comment!

