Tron Legacy – Movie Review

19 04 2011

Most, if not all of today’s movie going audience won’t know anything about the original Tron film, but that won’t stop Disney from putting out a sequel titled Tron: Legacy. This new Tron is directed by Joseph Kosinski, who hasn’t directed any major picture before. Thankfully, he does a fairly good job here, and this is an above average Sci-fi adventure.

Don’t worry if you haven’t watched the original Tron, no pre-existing knowledge is required to enjoy this sequel. The premise is similar to that of The Matrix or Inception, where you are able to go into an alternate reality. In Tron: Legacy, you are stepping into a video game called “Tron”. “Tron” is also the name of a character in the film who is actually not that important.

Kevin Flynn (Jeff Bridges) is a video game designer and an important person in the computer business world. His son Sam Flynn (Garrett Hedlund) is the rebellious teenager who doesn’t want to live in his father’s shadow. One day Kevin goes missing and now Sam has to look for him.

Olivia Wilde appears as a sexy female character who does some amazing kung fu moves with her light discs (which are the Frisbee things). There’s a tiny bit of romance in the story but it didn’t go anywhere. Performances from the entire cast are acceptable, Jeff Bridges being the expected best of the group. I have to point out that a young Jeff Bridges appears in the film and the way his face is digitally constructed looks very awkward.

The thing that strikes me most about Tron: Legacy is the score by Daft Punk, who also makes a cute cameo in this film. Daft Punk is a French duo who does electronic and dance music, and that’s what you have here. The score sometimes reminded me of Inception, but Daft Punk’s quirky sense of music is definitely very unique and memorable.

The visual effects of Tron: Legacy are top-notch and polished all around, giving you a world that you have never seen before. You get to see some cool gadgets that you wished existed in real life, but given their technology, surely they have better equipment than the ones featured in this film.

Action scenes are plenty, mostly car chases and fist fights. All of them are non-violent and enjoyable, but since everyone is wearing the same thing, sometimes you do get confused as to who is who. Thank goodness the good guys and bad guys are colour coded, so at least you know which side is winning.

I can remember one particular action scene that was extremely captivating, and that’s the light cycle battle. It happens not long after you enter the Tron world, and is without doubt the best scene of the entire film. A big action sequence near the conclusion seems to be harking back to the original Star Wars. In fact, there was a moment in the film when something is revealed, and it was literally Star Wars. If you have seen the film, you know what I’m talking about.

In the end, Tron: Legacy feels more like a two-hour long Daft Punk music video than an actual movie. However, the visual effects and the score are pieces of art on their own, making this a feast for the eyes and ears. The best thing about this film is that it uses its special effects not only to dazzle the audience, but also to present a message that you might want to think about and even discuss with your friends after the film is over.

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 04 2011
The Hook

The original was a joke, but my daughter and I LOVED the sequel. We saw it twice and it really left a great impression. Your review was spot-on, though.

19 04 2011
Kim

I completely agree with you. I was so disappointed when I saw the original movie again as a young adult.
Horrible!!!
But Tron Legacy was nice though. The effects are so great!

19 04 2011
Ipodman

I never watched the original Tron :/

But Tron Legacy is definitely very re-watchable, particularly the light cycle battle.

21 04 2011
Tron Legacy – Movie Review « I Am Ipodman | BuzzNow.co.in

[…] is the original post: Tron Legacy – Movie Review « I Am Ipodman If you have seen the film, you know what I'm talking about. Read the original: Tron Legacy […]

21 04 2011
Tron Legacy – Movie Review « I Am Ipodman | BuzzNow.co.in

[…] the original: Tron Legacy – Movie Review « I Am Ipodman If you have seen the film, you know what I'm talking about. Here is the original post: Tron […]

25 04 2011
VatuBarok

//Thanks for the comment, I see what you mean. 😉 I`m so used to spam comments I was kinda surprised to find an actual review blog, great stuff!

I loved the original movie as well *puts on hipster glasses* and it brings so much more to the sequel! Like the little details on people’s suits, I freaked out when I first saw Rinzler! I was like “Oh, oh! I know who that is! I KNOW WHO IT IS!!” xD And Daft Punk makes everything more awesome.

26 04 2011
Ipodman

Yea Daft Punk’s music is awesome 🙂

25 04 2011
VatuBarok

Oh, and I DIG your header! ❤
(Loved that movie too.)

26 04 2011
Ipodman

Oh thanks. I’ve been an X-Men fan since birth 🙂

1 05 2011
confessionsofateenagefangirl

I did watch the original Tron a few months before seeing Tron Legacy and I liked Legacy a lot more. The original gives you a lot of background on the Tron world but nothing overly crucial though I liked being able to understand things in the sequel without having to wait for an explanation. Legacy had a much better/easier plot and the improved effects/score didn’t hurt.

2 05 2011
Ipodman

The special effects of the original Tron looks really bad to be honest, even by 80s standards.

Please leave a comment!

