Big Bang “Love Song” Review – Best K-pop Music Video EVER?

18 04 2011

Big Bang’s Love Song is one of the best music videos I’ve seen in my life. To be honest, I was on the verge of stopping my K-pop music video reviews for good after watching so many repetitive music videos of the same cutesy act. Love Song is so unique and so well-made, I almost could not believe what I was seeing. The craft involved here is phenomenal. Even if you hate K-pop, you should watch this music video for yourself and see what I’m raving about.

Let’s back up a little. Big Bang (or BIGBANG) is a five member South Korean boy band that usually sings Hip Hop / R&B tunes. What we have here is a slow and powerful song that is brilliantly performed by the five guys. It’s amazing how such good songwriting even exists in the modern K-pop world of bubblegum drivel. I’m glad that the people who are managing Big Bang are not afraid of giving them a song which goes against the K-pop current. I can already imagine all the managers of other Korean boy bands trembling in their seats, wondering how they are going to top this.

About thirty seconds into this music video, I started thinking about how they actually filmed this thing. Did they use a crane to move the camera, and is that a real location or just a green screen. After a while, I decided that what I’m seeing was so good, I don’t even care how it was made. Just staring at it is satisfying enough, and this is one of those rare instances when I’m giving it two thumbs up before it’s even finished. I can’t believe I’m using the following comparison, but Love Song is the 2001: A Space Odyssey of Korean music.

Everything I dislike about K-pop is not present here, except that this music video is in black and white, which guess what, makes it look even better. I still think that a large majority of K-pop nowadays is brainless nonsense, especially after Wonder Girls’ Nobody became so popular back in 2008. But if you bother to search for the gems, you will find them. Love Song is by far Big Bang’s best work, and is among the best music videos of all time.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 04 2011
Mel

awesome review!! (:

18 04 2011
Rue

I own a surprisingly large amount of K-Pop. I have no idea how or when I got exposed to it in Auckland, but I am a huge fan.

12 12 2012
gdragon 4everrr!!!

Awesome! Luv love song n Big Bang!
=)

12 12 2012
gdragon 4everrr!!!

Best kpop video everrrr!!!!!!!
=*)

Please leave a comment!

